Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2009, 09:01 PM   #31
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Share |
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Thought you said that little black motor was running. It's called an inducer. Is it running or no?

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:03 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Thought you said that little black motor was running. It's called an inducer. Is it running or no?
I didn't say that. Is there anyone else here we can ask ?
Lucky Strike is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:04 PM   #33
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Is it running or not?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:06 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Is it running or not?
no it doesn't run.
Lucky Strike is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:09 PM   #35
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


You are going to need a volt meter. Do you have one?

Also you started the thread with "Furnace blows cold air". Is the blower running right now?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:13 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
You are going to need a volt meter. Do you have one?

Also you started the thread with "Furnace blows cold air". Is the blower running right now?
I have a volt meter and yes the blower blows cold air through the registers. Is the little black motor the blower ? If it is then it must be running because air blows through the registers. It just looks kind of small to be blowing air through the registers. I thought it was to cool something down in the furnace.
Lucky Strike is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:15 PM   #37
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:19 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
What do you mean ?

Hey guy I understand if you can't figure out what is wrong with the furnace . It's not a big deal. I would just appreciate it if you could point me towards a site or someone on this site that understands gas furnaces a little more.
Lucky Strike is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:23 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Hey bud thanks a lot for your time. I got to get going and get this thing working. I'll let you know what the problem was when I find it out.
Lucky Strike is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:27 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


First he says it's the ignitor and then he asks if the inducer motor is running then he posts funny faces when he can't find the problem. Thanks for the misdiagnosis, later
Lucky Strike is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:42 PM   #41
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Can't tell you what's wrong if you insist on being vague.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:47 PM   #42
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky Strike View Post
First he says it's the ignitor and then he asks if the inducer motor is running then he posts funny faces when he can't find the problem. Thanks for the misdiagnosis, later
I said it was the igniter when you said the inducer was running. I mis understood because you answer with vague responses.

Sorry, but I'll let somebody else help you.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 06:18 AM   #43
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North of Detroit
Posts: 42
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Here is the sequence of operation
Attached Files
File Type: pdf gmp.pdf (88.1 KB, 77 views)
pipefitter636 is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 06:36 AM   #44
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Have you been changing your air filters regularly.

If the blower turns on in less then 30 secends.
You probably have an open high or aux limit.

Control board should be flashing an error code.

Look for it.
beenthere is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 09:18 AM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

My furnace blows cold air all day


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky Strike View Post
Hey bud thanks a lot for your time. I got to get going and get this thing working. I'll let you know what the problem was when I find it out.
I am not expert here either, but by reading this thread you have been very vague in your answers. There are hundreds of different makes and models of furnaces and they all work a little different than other units.

Without details, these guys cannot help you with specific answers.

You may need to call a local HVAC guy to come and diagnose the unit since you dont seem to be able to answer these guys questions.

They don't get paid to be here either.

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flooring cold from furnace intake flipper_79 Building & Construction 1 01-25-2009 11:24 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
CARRIER 58RAV Furnace Blows Cold Air-No Heat sarosie HVAC 2 12-05-2007 12:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.