My Carrier High Efficiency Furnace - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2012, 02:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


My Carrier high efficiency furnace (Model 58SXC120-LG) has no LED light to indicate any errors. It occassionally fails to restar after running for awhile. I can mannually restart it by turning the power off and then back on. The thermostat is working fine (new batteries). Anyone can give me a clue on how to diagnose this problem?

Advertisement

wxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 03:06 PM   #2
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 606
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


HeyWxia
Start up a new thread for your furnace as it will confuse everyone if you don't.

Advertisement

how is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 04:03 PM   #3
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 606
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


Hey wxia
Are you saying that your diagnostic led doesn't blink a code after a lockout or that you can find the led light? If you can't find it, look for it on an electronic board. If the board is only accessed behind a panel that has a door switch, then tape that door switch shut so you can access that led light code the next time the furnace locks out without cutting off it's power.
In the mean time, un screwing & cleaning the flame sensor with steel wool it the easiest and most possible common fix to first try.
how is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


Carrier didn't have the LED in that mid 1980's furnace.

The edge pin connector labeled 10B1 can corrode inside and turn green (instead of the normal silver). The pc board connection to it can as well.

I've had a tech clean the inside with some flattened steel wool, then blow it out with compressed nitrogen and get one back on line before.

Any steel wool left behind could cause problems.

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:37 PM   #5
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


So you have nothing when it comes back on?
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:38 PM   #6
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


Is the fan running, is it trying to spark? Is this l.p or N.G
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:44 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


Once I get it restarted, it often runs normal for days before it does it again. I will do what is suggested by Houston 204 and let you know if that works.
wxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:56 PM   #8
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


Sure the lockout module is maybe going out. It lock out the unit for 3 hours before restart
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:57 PM   #9
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


Is that for l.p. for vapor lock out on low tank or low tank pressure?
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:05 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


I do not know what is "l.p. for vapor lock out on low tank or low tank pressure?" Every time when I notice the furnace was not running and the temperature did not rise to the thermostat setting, I restart the furnace by switch the power off and on. It started working right away and often continues for days.
wxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:15 PM   #11
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


L.p. is propane gas. You on l.p.?
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:20 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


No, mine uses natural gas.
wxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:04 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


I have cleaned the flame sensor and checked all connectors on the board that I can see. The connectors all look fine and relatively tight. I do not have much confidence if these are related to the problem. In the next few days I will see if the problem goes away.
wxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:58 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennesse
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by wxia View Post
I have cleaned the flame sensor and checked all connectors on the board that I can see. The connectors all look fine and relatively tight. I do not have much confidence if these are related to the problem. In the next few days I will see if the problem goes away.
3 common problems with those units, 1 st off the secondary heat exchangers are failing at a pretty high rate, check that FIRST before you sink any money into it. The other two things are the 3 wire pilot, and the gas valve. BTW unless it is one of the very last sx's that was made it may not have a true flame sensor, the last year that carrier made them was the first year that they started using a flame sensor and a ignitor.......would it be possible for you to post a picture of your furnace with the doors off?

Last edited by dosy777; 02-13-2012 at 03:17 PM.
dosy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 12:25 PM   #15
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

My Carrier high efficiency furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by wxia View Post
I have cleaned the flame sensor and checked all connectors on the board that I can see. The connectors all look fine and relatively tight. I do not have much confidence if these are related to the problem. In the next few days I will see if the problem goes away.
no sensor on that model. had a bi-metal pilot.

Advertisement

hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Furnace code 33 @ startup blower fan sounds like jet Frank Ottawa HVAC 6 04-19-2011 08:12 AM
Furnace is in attic, I want to move it because of efficiency issues... SimonSezz HVAC 1 01-22-2011 07:23 PM
Payne PG9YAB high efficiency 95% furnace water draining problem jchen64 HVAC 9 12-06-2010 07:42 PM
High Efficiency Furnace Combustion and Exhaust pirateo HVAC 7 08-13-2009 11:58 AM
Has anyone updated to high efficiency gas furnace? orange HVAC 30 11-20-2008 09:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts