Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2012, 04:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Share |
Question

My AC unit has settled.


Hi, I purchased central heating and air and also bought a 10 year warranty on labor.
The unit has settled so that my filter is now very difficult to remove and replace. The filter is located just before it enters the outdoor unit and the metal duct has twisted just enough that the filter does not fit. At the time of installation I questioned settling because it was placed in a garden area. The unit was installed less that 2 1/2 years ago. I was told that if it did settle to just call them.
Is this covered by warranty?

KeithMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:30 PM   #2
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 222
Default

My AC unit has settled.


They said to call them. I would start there.

Dierte is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dierte For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (04-20-2012), KeithMo (04-20-2012)
Old 04-20-2012, 04:34 PM   #3
Disabled wood vet
 
titanoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,646
Default

My AC unit has settled.


Like the person who made you that personal promise still works there.
Good luck.
titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to titanoman For This Useful Post:
KeithMo (04-20-2012)
Old 04-20-2012, 04:54 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default

My AC unit has settled.


Yes I have called them and they said they would have to look but they doubted warranty would cover it. Thought maybe someone had experienced the settling issue. I am on disability only and things are tight so was hopeful but unsure.
KeithMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 05:39 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,904
Default

My AC unit has settled.


If the dirt has been disturbed, yes there can be settling. That is why it is always good to put a slab down, or tamp the dirt to compress it, so that there is no settlement, once the object is placed on it. The warranty of the unit will not cover this, it should be the word of the company, that if they stated that if there was any problems, they would come back and fix it.

Now if it is just a all-in-one unit that is just electrical and duct work, it will be easy for anyone to disconnect the power and duct, lift the unit to place pavers under to lift it even, then hook back up the duct and electrical.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
KeithMo (04-20-2012), Ravenworks (04-20-2012)
Old 04-20-2012, 06:37 PM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

My AC unit has settled.


Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithMo View Post
Yes I have called them and they said they would have to look but they doubted warranty would cover it. Thought maybe someone had experienced the settling issue. I am on disability only and things are tight so was hopeful but unsure.

For company namesake alone if it were my job I'd want to come back and fix it.

If this is a brand new unit then I'd suspectd they are obligated, especially since saying they would, to come back and fix it. Most times you don't even have to disconnect anything, just pry the entire thing up and put a brick or two or three under the pad.

There is a pad that the unit sits on, right? If not, oh good Lord.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
KeithMo (04-20-2012)
Old 04-20-2012, 06:38 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default

My AC unit has settled.


Gregzoll, The unit is all in one both furnace and AC.
There is a gas line, duct, and electrical which is flexible conduit.
The dirt was disturbed prior to placement because it was a garden area with bulbs. A large prefabricated platform was used as a base. It is not concrete.
I believe now that I will probably be the one to fix it. I have a very large pry bar. One side has settled. I am thinking I can lift it a little and tamp soil under it with help from my brother and friends. I am talking about raising one side 1 to 2 inches, perhaps keep it from getting worse.
Should I attempt this on my own?
Although I questioned settling during installation I do know that the senior person installing the unit is no longer working for the company.
KeithMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 06:40 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

My AC unit has settled.


Here's a job from today. It's just the condenser but still, there should always be a pad under the thing. This one is shifty but it started raining on me (electrical storm came out of nowhere and 5 people so far were struck by lightning or so I was told) so I got the heck out of there so not a word about how the unit is slightly leaning. I'm going back tomorrow.

Anyways, pad. Always.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
KeithMo (04-20-2012)
Old 04-20-2012, 06:45 PM   #9
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

My AC unit has settled.


Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithMo View Post
Gregzoll, The unit is all in one both furnace and AC.
There is a gas line, duct, and electrical which is flexible conduit.
The dirt was disturbed prior to placement because it was a garden area with bulbs. A large prefabricated platform was used as a base. It is not concrete.
I believe now that I will probably be the one to fix it. I have a very large pry bar. One side has settled. I am thinking I can lift it a little and tamp soil under it with help from my brother and friends. I am talking about raising one side 1 to 2 inches, perhaps keep it from getting worse.
Should I attempt this on my own?
Although I questioned settling during installation I do know that the senior person installing the unit is no longer working for the company.

Yes, if you had a few people to help than you can easily tip/pry up the entire thing and pack some dirt under there. Might be best to try with a flat headed shovel so as to not damage the pad but other than that, I do it all the time. It's not that big of a deal.

Sorry for budding in, Gregzoll. I just drank an energy drink!!
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
KeithMo (04-20-2012)
Old 04-20-2012, 06:49 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,904
Default

My AC unit has settled.


No prob Doc. I got lucky, due to my whole yard was used as a dump for materials like paving bricks, broken up sidewalk, etc. I used the pavers and some concrete sidewalk chunks to form the pad for mine. I have noticed it has sunk in the middle, but not much so I am not worried on mine. If it does sink on one side anymore, I can just call my guy up and he would help lift it, or unhook the lines if I need to.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 04-20-2012 at 06:52 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:31 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,929
Default

My AC unit has settled.


May want to concider gravel instead of just some dirt. It would be less likly to wash out later.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
KeithMo (04-20-2012)
Old 04-20-2012, 07:54 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default

My AC unit has settled.


OK the pad is not as large in comparison to the unit but is rather large. The duct is very short. I will lift the far side that is away from the gas line. That is the side of the return air and the filter. I do know that he leveled the ground and removed the mulch from under the pad but it was rather soft because of the previous bulbs.
I appreciate your help, everyone!!
They will come out Monday but if they don't offer to fix it I will attempt it myself using precautions not to damage the pad. I have plenty of shovels. All of the fence is easily removeable. I have many bricks and pavers also.
Thanks so much!!
Attached Images
  
KeithMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:06 PM   #13
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

My AC unit has settled.


For future reference that is called a package unit and since it's gas it's also referred to as a gas pack.

What size in tonnage is that thing?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:10 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default

My AC unit has settled.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
For future reference that is called a package unit and since it's gas it's also referred to as a gas pack.

What size in tonnage is that thing?
OK thanks, it says 2 1/2 ton package unit. Thanks for the info.
KeithMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 04:58 AM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,557
Default

My AC unit has settled.


A call to the owner or service manager to remind them that you pointed out that it could/would settle may be needed.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
KeithMo (04-23-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 10:11 AM
Had an Aire-Flo AC installed, looking for opinions mikemcd HVAC 14 08-01-2011 04:07 AM
new r-410a ac unit installation procedure(w/old unit r-22)? excalibur1 HVAC 0 06-06-2011 03:47 PM
Window A/C Unit and Supplying Power JayEnder Electrical 1 04-30-2011 07:50 PM
Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air beakon20 HVAC 4 08-13-2008 09:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.