Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2010, 03:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Must I replace the coil when I replace the outside condenser unit?


My 16 year old Bryant condenser has burnt and shorted. I am being told that I must replace the coil (a-coil) above the furnace when i replace the condenser. is this true?

plichtenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 03:29 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Must I replace the coil when I replace the outside condenser unit?


I am sure many persons on this site can give you a dozen reasons but the long and short of it is YES you do. Thats 25 years experience talking. I really dont think your old coil will take the new 410A ref anyway.

Kevin
Owener operator
lennoxoemparts

kevins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,238
Rewards Points: 1,004
Default

Must I replace the coil when I replace the outside condenser unit?


Yes and while your at it replace the heater 2.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 05:57 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,620
Rewards Points: 2,378
Default

Must I replace the coil when I replace the outside condenser unit?


Old condensor It is an 8 SEER and the new condensor will be 13 SEER or higher and a mis-match with the old coil. Won't work properly.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 09:35 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 419
Rewards Points: 304
Default

Must I replace the coil when I replace the outside condenser unit?


i have an older condenser (10 SEER) and a newer air handler (13 SEER). everything works perfectly fine, in fact it works better than it ever did before. maybe you are only supposed to mismatch in certain ways.
NitroNate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 02:41 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Must I replace the coil when I replace the outside condenser unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroNate View Post
i have an older condenser (10 SEER) and a newer air handler (13 SEER). everything works perfectly fine, in fact it works better than it ever did before. maybe you are only supposed to mismatch in certain ways.
Its less problematic using a 13 SEER coil with a 10 or 8 SEER condenser.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Residential AC Unit - Can a stalled condenser fan cause other problems? bcphoto HVAC 6 04-03-2010 10:09 AM
Evap coil question merlinfolks HVAC 15 07-27-2009 07:20 AM
Evaporator coil for Goodman A/C leschuler HVAC 2 09-25-2008 12:43 PM
vinyl compressor cover petroman HVAC 4 04-14-2008 03:52 PM
Replace furnace, coil and duct system sps123 HVAC 2 01-07-2006 10:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.