Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2008, 03:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeast, CT
Posts: 68
Share |
Default

Moving Warm Air To Basement?


Ok, here's my issue i'm trying to cure. We just installed a wood stove in our living room on one end of the house. Well it gets real hot in there and about 68-70 on the opposite end of the house and none of the wood stove heat gets in the basement. I was wondering if I could put a duct in the floor at the opposite end of the house as the wood stove and duct it to the finished side of the basement via some round duct and one of those inline booster duct fan. Will this work or am I crazy? I'd think it would pull the warm air to the normally cooler end of the house and then into the basement. It could return up the stairwell or I could cut in another return duct in the room with the stove. Any tips or advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
GearHd6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 04:00 PM   #2
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,641
Default

Moving Warm Air To Basement?


Do you have a hot air furnace where you can turn the fan on for circulation. If you have adequate returns in the basement and the rest of the house, this will be a big help in making tempreatures more uniform.

You have to get the cold air out of the basement or the warm air will not replace it.

When it gets real cold (below 0F), I always run my furnace fan 24x7 because I have an open stairway to the lower level and less insulation plus a couple of bi sliding doors. It is much more comfortable and it eliminates the need to crank up the heat. - With a wood stove you have to be part forcaster and part someone with a crytal ball to just make a guess.

Last edited by concretemasonry; 11-22-2008 at 04:03 PM.
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 04:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeast, CT
Posts: 68
Default

Moving Warm Air To Basement?


I wish I had a hot air furnace, it would make this problem much easier to fix. But i've got hot water baseboard heat. Right now my furnace is running a little here and there to keep the basement warm but it's not running at all for the upstairs.
GearHd6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:23 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeast, CT
Posts: 68
Default

Moving Warm Air To Basement?


Anyone else have any idea's? I don't want to go through the effort of creating the duct work if it won't work. If I run through it in my mind it seems like its got to work. But, i'm also not an HVAC expert. Thanks for any help.
GearHd6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Moving Warm Air To Basement?


aside from telling you to put the stove in the basement as im sure it has visual appeal as well whats above the stove? attic or another room? do you have central a/c you could use the a/c fan to pull the air where its needed
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeast, CT
Posts: 68
Default

Moving Warm Air To Basement?


Well we went into this thinking this stove would be working harder than it is to keep the house warm. Jotul claims the stove heats 1200 sq/ft and our main level is 1060 sq/ft. This house was built in the 70's and only has 2x4 walls and 2 good size single pane picture windows. We never thought this would be overkill. Thats really the reason the stove isn't in the basement. I didn't want to have to have the basement 80* to have the main level 70*, that just seemed like a waste of wood.

There is nothing above the stove other than an attic. And no, we don't have central air or forced hot air so we're really lacking ducts to move air around.
GearHd6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:55 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Moving Warm Air To Basement?


well all i could say is you need some type of way to move the air (i know you know that) and the most logical place to pull it from would be almost directly above the stove or close by i doubt an inline fan could do anything for you.
it would have to be more like an old airhandler that just had the fan left in it and some ducts to where you want them but if youre going to do all that might as well put central air in
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement - Removing or moving support post jfgagnon Remodeling 12 08-08-2011 07:11 AM
basement floor drain problem radioiowa88 Plumbing 5 10-22-2008 10:52 PM
Basement Renovation Project Howdy Electrical 6 03-13-2008 11:07 AM
moving basement toilet cibula11 Plumbing 10 10-20-2007 01:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.