Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2007, 11:07 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

moving thermostat


how hard is it to move a thermostat to another room?

jimimcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 11:30 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

moving thermostat


As hard as fishing a wire into the wall.

Need more details - how many stories, is the air handler/furnace/blower on the same floor as the T'stat or another, do you have access to the current and future walls from above or below where the wire goes into the stud space, etc....

pjpjpjpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 12:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

moving thermostat


wow! thanks for the quick reply!! Here's the scoop:
i work for a camp, and have housing provided. It is a converted farmhand cottage, so it is pretty rough, which is nice. I'm not an hvac guy so i'll describe what i have. an oil furnace with baseboards. furnace has to fire up and baseboards start "clicking" to provide heat. sorry 'bout the amateur description. furnace is in basment, and all living space is on first floor. Right now wire to thermostat is exposed, so i would not feel like I had to fish wire through wall. is it as easy as relocating thermostat to small, and very hot, bedroom, drilling a hole in the floor and connecting to furnace?
thanks again!!
jimimcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 09:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75
Default

moving thermostat


If you're comfortable taking the cover off your thermostat to see how many or few wires are connected and you would be disconnecting [marking them and taking notes so you can re-assemble correctly either in your new location or back where it started} and it sounds like you will be pulling them down through your floor and then pushing them back up through your newly drilled hole {be sure to know exactly where that hole is coming out and what you are drilling through- blind drilling is not the way to find electrical or natural gas or plumbing or discover your hole came out in another room or over a timber}, and you're sure you have enough length of wire to move to your new location then yes, that's about as hard as it should be.
I'm not an HVAC tradesman but doesn't your camp have a maintenance gal or guy who'd be more than happy to do this for you or at least help you do it? I suspect if that were the case you wouldn't be asking us. Good luck.
UBoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 10:41 PM   #5
no loose ends
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

moving thermostat


Next best thing to...? Wireless! Whats cool about the transmitter is that you can put in any room. Or keep it with you. Who needs wires.
Some folks don't know how to be practical, however --they'll keep it on their person or put it some place it doesn't belong--remember to follow proper guidelines.
undone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
moving thermostat gumby Electrical 1 12-12-2006 04:29 PM
Thermostat question ctown HVAC 7 12-05-2006 03:46 PM
2 stage heat thermostat problem W1 AND w2 wires whatdoIdonow HVAC 6 11-26-2006 12:04 AM
Lux 722E Thermostat mgkicker HVAC 3 10-27-2006 01:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.