Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2007, 03:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 310
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Moving Furnace to end of basement


My basement is unfinished and the furnace is placed towards the center of the basement which, if finished as designed, would make my laundry room the largest room in the basement behind the living room. The room would be 11X16 and would only consist of furnace, water heater, washer and dryer and basin. Will I get any adverse affects of moving the furnace all the way to the end of the basement in the center? Making the laundry only 8X11 or so. All the space that is needed in my opinion.

tigerbalm2424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 04:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Moving Furnace to end of basement


Moving furnance is a big job if I have to imagine.... don't know if people really do that?.... consider rerouting the heat supply/return pipes, gas pipes,water drainage..etc..... and the big heavy machine.... it is like peform heart changing operation to human... even it success, may have side effect...

KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 05:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 310
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Moving Furnace to end of basement


Ahhh...but you've seen my retaining wall and deck pics in the showcase! All done by hand(adding more pics too!). My plan is already to re-run ALL the water with PEX. I've worked with Gas too as I installed a gas heater in the garage which I ran gas line to.
tigerbalm2424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 06:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Moving Furnace to end of basement


There is alot to take into concideration. Air flow or the loss of, moving of the A/C lines (must be EPA certified to do that) electric and gas, Vent pipe and intake (if aplicable) must be exstended/moved) and yet must stay within factory guideline for proper flow of dangerous flue gasses...........A Hvac guy went to school a long time to to learn that the furnace had to go were it is now...........the same amount of education will be needed to tell you if it can be moved, and NO ONE on the internet can do that..........it must be seen with the trained eye.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 07:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 310
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Moving Furnace to end of basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by harleyrider View Post
A Hvac guy went to school a long time to to learn that the furnace had to go were it is now...........the same amount of education will be needed to tell you if it can be moved, and NO ONE on the internet can do that..........it must be seen with the trained eye.
"It must be seen with the money hungry eye" I think is what you are saying.

I do understand that people go to school for these sorts of things but internet is a powerful tool. I have done all my own gas, elec, hvac, plumbing, carpentry. I quess I was just wondering if someone on here to tell me, before I spend the research time, if extending the HVAC trucks would had adverse affects on the furnace itself(havent done failure analysis on the motor yet but I would assume it would make it work harder). I've already done airflow FEA using Ansys and it will only loose 2 degrees F at the end vent with the added length in ductwork. I will do some research and let everyone know what i find. NOTE: Furnace was only placed where it currenlty is to accomodate the exhaust pipe inside the upstairs wall to travel to the roof.
tigerbalm2424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 08:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 221
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Moving Furnace to end of basement


I'd be more concerned with safely routing the flue gases, gas line and electrical than airflow efficiency to tell you the truth, but it can all be done if you are capable. be safe and get a 2nd opinion if you are unsure.
elementx440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 08:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 310
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Moving Furnace to end of basement


Sounds good. Thanks!
tigerbalm2424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:44 AM   #8
Member
 
coolmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: jersey
Posts: 135
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Moving Furnace to end of basement


I moved a unit for a homeowner once.Moved it 5 ft back against the wall so he could finish the basment and have more room. The main issue is the chminy location and distance from furnace. the way the duct is designed is the other issue. my unit simply added 5 ft of the same size that was allready their 20x8.
coolmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 05:17 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Moving Furnace to end of basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerbalm2424 View Post
"It must be seen with the money hungry eye" I think is what you are saying.

I do understand that people go to school for these sorts of things but internet is a powerful tool. I have done all my own gas, elec, hvac, plumbing, carpentry. I quess I was just wondering if someone on here to tell me, before I spend the research time, if extending the HVAC trucks would had adverse affects on the furnace itself(havent done failure analysis on the motor yet but I would assume it would make it work harder). I've already done airflow FEA using Ansys and it will only loose 2 degrees F at the end vent with the added length in ductwork. I will do some research and let everyone know what i find. NOTE: Furnace was only placed where it currenlty is to accomodate the exhaust pipe inside the upstairs wall to travel to the roof.
Whatever man........do it as YOU THINK is right.........I pray that your wife and children are spared from your foolishness.

Last edited by harleyrider; 03-07-2007 at 02:25 PM.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 06:51 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 310
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Moving Furnace to end of basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by harleyrider View Post
Whatever moron........do it as YOU THINK is right.........I pray that your wife and children are spared from your foolishness.
Thanks!
tigerbalm2424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:27 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Moving Furnace to end of basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerbalm2424 View Post
My basement is unfinished and the furnace is placed towards the center of the basement which, if finished as designed, would make my laundry room the largest room in the basement behind the living room. The room would be 11X16 and would only consist of furnace, water heater, washer and dryer and basin. Will I get any adverse affects of moving the furnace all the way to the end of the basement in the center? Making the laundry only 8X11 or so. All the space that is needed in my opinion.
I have the same problem with my basement furnace too. I want move it several feet toward the stairs. I an wondering how is your furnace moving goes? Did you move the furnace anyway?

Thanks a lot for your input.

skyandflying is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Basement - Removing or moving support post jfgagnon Remodeling 12 08-08-2011 08:11 AM
moving basement toilet cibula11 Plumbing 10 10-20-2007 02:22 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 06:00 PM
Could installing a furnace to the floor joists cause the floor to slope? JKL HVAC 5 01-03-2007 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.