Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2007, 07:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 292
Share |
Default

Moving furnace?




Currently, my basement is unfinished. The original layout was very poor in my opinion. The furnace is in the center of one side of the basement, which, with the layout of the load bearing walls makes the utility the largest room in the house. Can I move the furnace, say, 12 feet towards one of the end walls? Other than the venting issue, does anyone see any other issues?

tigerbalm2424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 06:15 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 292
Default

Moving furnace?


Ok, different approach. Can I vent a gas water heater though the side wall of a house? Or does it need to be vented vertically?

tigerbalm2424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 06:26 AM   #3
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,771
Default

Moving furnace?


Generally you try to keep the furnace close to the air intake because of the size of the trunk. The gas line might need to be upsized. Finally, you already mentioned, the venting will need to be thought about.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 01:34 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Moving furnace?


hey mr clutch re: hot water htr venting thru the wall , i'd be worried about extreme condensation quickly rotting out your pipe and snow levels , and poor drafting because of low exhaust temps and then a lot of possible downdrafting, All in all personally , my opinion only , i don't like the idea. Jack
rojacman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 07:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 650
Send a message via AIM to Marlin
Default

Moving furnace?


Yes you can vent horizontally. You need to check your local codes to be sure it is allowed and what the requirements are. You will defiantly need a power vent water heater though.

As far as moving your furnace as long as you can take care of the venting issue you shouldn't have any problems. All the heat, gas, and power lines just need to be re-routed. If you are planning on enclosing the furnace their will be specific codes on what ventilation is needed and a minimum size for the enclosure.

Last edited by Marlin; 09-01-2007 at 07:15 PM.
Marlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 05:00 PM
Tie-in of a Coleman electric furnace nilo HVAC 9 01-03-2007 03:45 PM
Furnace does't start when Fan is 'auto' stepicz HVAC 2 10-18-2005 06:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.