Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2012, 02:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

moving flex duct


Hi all - I searched your forum and didn't find a similar question/answer so I'm posting. My apologies if this is a duplicate, just point me in the right direction.

I live in an old (1920) city duplex with very shallow closets. We're considering builidng out the guest room closet as a DIY project this spring. This would require moving an AC duct on the ceiling (so it doesn't end up in the new, larger closet).

The ducts are flexible hoses that come out as a small (≈3" diameter) circular hole in the ceiling. The room in question is on the 2nd floor, so hoses are in the attic right above, although I think attic access is pretty shallow in that area. Ceiling is plaster. I know nothing about HVAC, is this a reasonable undertaking?

Hopefully it's as simple as stretching the hose a couple feet further in the attic (do they stretch?) and drilling a new hole in the ceiling. I'm leery about splicing/adding joints to the hose due to a complete lack of experience and fear of knocking out AC service to this room (or the whole house).

I would really appreciate anyone who weighs in about what the HVAC portion of this project would entail. Thanks in advance.
moving flex duct-current.jpg

moving flex duct-idea.jpg

RodneySt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 03:28 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Rewards Points: 0
Default

moving flex duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by RodneySt View Post
...moving an AC duct on the ceiling... hoses are in the attic right above... Ceiling is plaster ...it's as simple as stretching the hose a couple feet ... and drilling a new hole in the ceiling ... I'm leery about splicing/adding joints to the hose...
Drilling the hole through plaster and lathe is far more difficult to do well than adding some extra piece of "hose" to the line. When you get a piece of "hose" to match what you have in your hands you'll see.

Go up to the attic and take a few pictures.
Look for the duct to all be insulated, well supported and without any kinks.
If not... fix that.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 04:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,393
Rewards Points: 120
Default

moving flex duct


Moving a duct is not going to effect anything to do with the rest of the system. To get through plaster your going to need a carbide hole saw, once it hits the lath you should switch to a reguler bi metal one.
A Bimetal one would be trashed by the the time it got thorugh to the wood.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ducts


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using flex duct for return. lakeresident HVAC 3 11-14-2011 09:56 AM
AC Flex Duct - Suspend above attic insulation or lay it on top? fritzycat1 HVAC 13 08-17-2011 10:19 PM
Jenn-Aire Downdraft - OEM flex duct required? Dwizzo Appliances 0 10-09-2010 04:35 PM
Metal duct or flex? smokey982 HVAC 6 08-06-2010 06:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.