Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2013, 10:28 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 91
Share |
Default

moving ductwork.


I had a new hvac system installed in my home about three years ago. The house had wall heat and window air. My bathroom is located in the center of the house next to the return and thermostat. My problem is he put a vent right next to the toilet. This is a nuisance in more ways than one. It didn't last more than a couple years ( I have a trash bag wrapped around it now to block any air). My question is it a diy'er task to move that vent or should I call someone. My idea is to move it to a wall or vanity to get it off the floor. The duct work will obviously have to be replaced or cleaned.

big juicy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 11:39 AM   #2
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 445
Default

moving ductwork.


Since it is in the center of the house and since you have had it blocked....have you determined if you really need it at all? My house is the same way, we just blocked the vent.

Technow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 12:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 91
Default

moving ductwork.


That room can get a little stuffy. Is there any options to move air around and look like it belongs in a bathroom. We are looking like we have to replace the subfloor so we wouldn't put the vent back Where it is .
big juicy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 01:20 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

moving ductwork.


If it is in the middle of the house it will never get cold so I would delete it. you don't need AC there either. what you need is a good 100 cfm bathroom exhaust fan. get it put on a wind up timer/sauna timer and run it every once in a while to get the stuffiness out plus it will help ventilate the house and get you fresh air in. I do that with an HRV and timer in my bathroom. there may be a electronic version of those timers available, talk to a reputable electrician.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 10-11-2013 at 01:29 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 02:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 91
Default

moving ductwork.


Ok. Is there a way I can cap the hole at the trunk line. Or do I need to call a hvac Guy.
big juicy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 03:47 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

moving ductwork.


Home Depot should have a plug/cap in the sheet metal dept.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 03:58 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,778
Default

moving ductwork.


Sheet metal cap.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 04:25 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 91
Default

moving ductwork.


I have a 1000 square foot house and a 2.5 ton electric unit. Will this damage the unit ?
big juicy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 04:35 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

moving ductwork.


Good question. You really should get the furnace serviced once a year and at that time the tech should check the temp rise thru it to make sure it is not overheating and has the fan speed set properly. If you block one vent it can start overheating but another one can be installed elsewhere to relieve the pressure.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 05:20 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 91
Default

moving ductwork.


That's a good idea. Being I have never had it serviced since install
big juicy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 05:41 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

moving ductwork.


Yep, you don't want to be burning out any electric elements from overheatin.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on running ductwork for roof vent pedechad HVAC 3 09-17-2013 08:55 PM
Moving ductwork in basement Manicboss HVAC 2 03-22-2012 03:07 PM
moving ductwork ddrewwery HVAC 3 03-07-2011 04:29 PM
Moving ductwork to accomodate finished basement Badfish740 HVAC 1 01-13-2010 03:11 PM
Help moving ductwork in order to finish my basement Rhat HVAC 7 06-15-2009 08:57 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.