Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-20-2009, 12:48 PM   #16
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Share |
Default

Model#PG036100-1A Goodman gaspack won't light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Impala63 View Post
HAVCLOVER SAID
I read your posts and i don't think HVAC is your lively hood so I would expect you to say what you did.
__________________
I don't think this site was designed to bash or express what folks think about each other, but to help folks solve problems without spending a bunch of money. and to answer your question HVACLOVER, no Im not a hvac professional. but I do know when something just don't sound right. they tech went from replacing the circuit board to, well if thats not it we'll replace something else. thats why I lost confidence in the tech. and would not reccomend him to a friend, he also wanted to charge me for a capacitor(A/C). that he said he could tell it was bad by looking at it. he quoted me a price of $125.00 for the part, I found out yesterday when i went to get the board, it is only $16.45, every hvac tech I have spoken to since the first tech said the same thing, ( the guy must be hungry) and he's not private but works for a local company

Site was designed for DIY and all the answers are given by pros. We don't get paid for this. We do it it because we want to help people with legitimate HVAC problems.....PERIOD.

So when I read a post bashing the Industry it reflects on me and the guys who give freely of them selves and for nothing else but the satisfaction of doing a stranger a solid, I am going to get a little warm under the collar.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 02-20-2009 at 12:51 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 12:05 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 187
Default

Model#PG036100-1A Goodman gaspack won't light


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Yeah but are you a professional tech or someone who just dabbles? Man got what he deserved. The diagnostic fee is to cover the truck and over head associated with SHOWING UP, it's not a lesson in hvac.

I read your posts and i don't think HVAC is your lively hood so I would expect you to say what you did.
Impala 63 I think hvaclover was directing this post to me. So I will answer it!

Okay first of all where would you get the opinion I am in HVAC or even dabble in it? But the business I am in I treat everyone as a potential customer and in a professional manner. Granted there are a few people that need to be kicked in the butt once in awhile, but you need to look at it as turning a problem into a opportunity.

How do you know Impala63 wasn't going to call you to install a new furnace?
Years ago in a previous life when I was in the car business we were taught the rule of 200. That being the assumption that everyone knew 200 people,therefore a happy customer was potentialy 200 more customers and vice versa.

I have never had a problem giving advice to potential customers and even referring them to some of my competition if I thought it was over my head and someone else could help them better with their problem.

I know a guy who dabbles in repairing automatic transmissions and is smarter about them then 80% of the dealerships tranny guys who are Professional Techs! Just because someone is Professional does not dictate the quality of his work!

Also Impala63 in his post did not trash or belittle the HVAC industry, just felt he was being overcharged.

Gary
Gary_602z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 03:17 PM   #18
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Model#PG036100-1A Goodman gaspack won't light


I asked about your profession cause no HVAC guy would condone what he did. And guys who crab over a price like that I do not want as customers.

And I submit that since that cost was in line with what others charge the OP got what he paid for . He then could not get it to work and wants help fixing it.

Like I said I ain't gonna lend a hand. We get guys all day long who want us to give them a lesson on hvac repair just for the cost of a service call. Pros don't play that.

Let a DIYer help him.
If You have no problem with what he pulled that is your decision.


By the way the Rule of 200 is ancient history. The consumer mind set is now to tell eight people if a in home service (does not matter what type business)was unsatisfactory and if the service was satisfactory they told only three people.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 02-21-2009 at 11:23 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:13 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Model#PG036100-1A Goodman gaspack won't light


thanks for all the help guys, I did install the circuit board correctly, the gas cock was turned off. thanks for all your comments hvaclover. although I see you're still upset. sorry you took my question personaly. but as you would say............................JUST SLOW NOT STUPID.
Impala63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:58 AM   #20
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Model#PG036100-1A Goodman gaspack won't light


Maybe...but who's the one who needs an internet connection to figure something that simple out?
And you are still a crook.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 09:19 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 187
Default

Model#PG036100-1A Goodman gaspack won't light


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Maybe...but who's the one who needs an internet connection to figure something that simple out?
And you are still a crook.
Umm.. if you read the posts the internet nor you helped him figure this out!
I am presuming that he paid the bill that the Tech presented so therefore no court could call him a crook nor should you!
I am done with this thread as we do not agree!

Gary
Gary_602z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 09:54 PM   #22
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Model#PG036100-1A Goodman gaspack won't light


by kenzo quote:
make sure gas cock (heh heh he said cock) is on and also valve is on End quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary_602z View Post

Umm.. if you read the posts the internet nor you helped him figure this out!

Gary
The op could not even figure out the gas was turned off. That's why Pro's are licensed, to keep dangerous people from working on gas appliances.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 02-22-2009 at 10:01 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman gmp075 4 won't light Steve72 HVAC 7 02-06-2009 05:38 PM
Goodman furnace won't light anotherday HVAC 3 10-29-2008 07:03 PM
Marmoleum repairs muggyfrost Flooring 8 10-16-2008 08:19 PM
Furnace won't light (Goodman GMP100-3) MattJ HVAC 8 10-03-2008 09:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.