Mini Split System New Electric Line From Breaker - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2010, 10:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

mini split system new electric line from breaker


installating a new mini split and running new electric line for 1.5 ton condenser can the wiring be 10/2?

Advertisement

dawncass46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 11:28 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

mini split system new electric line from breaker


what does the unit list as max OCPD and minimum circuit ampacity?

That is what will determine what minimum size conductor you must use.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 11:53 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

mini split system new electric line from breaker


Provided the run is less then 500 foot long, no problem with 10/2 with ground.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 01:57 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

mini split system new electric line from breaker


Follow the installation information included with the mini.

I just installed a 12, 000 BTU the MAX circuit size was 15 with 14 wire.

That's what it stated.
COLDIRON is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 02:04 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

mini split system new electric line from breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by COLDIRON View Post
Follow the installation information included with the mini.

I just installed a 12, 000 BTU the MAX circuit size was 15 with 14 wire.

That's what it stated.
Thats the max breaker size. Nothing says you can't run a 10 gauge wire to it(well, the disconnect).
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 02:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

mini split system new electric line from breaker


I understand that you can do that it just seems a little outa sorts running 10ga on a 15 amp circuit.

I do follow your point. Of course it depends what's on the truck and how much time and distance you are from the supply house. yada yada yada.

Like building a mosque it's legal but should it be built.
COLDIRON is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 02:35 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

mini split system new electric line from breaker


Lots cheaper running 10 gauge then driving an hour to go pick up 12 or 14 gauge.

I'll stay out of the political view.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 05:14 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

mini split system new electric line from breaker


Thanks been I value your opinion. I also hate politics I guess that was a bad analogy. #10, 12 14 will do for me. as long as I got that 15 a protection.
COLDIRON is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 05:49 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

mini split system new electric line from breaker


Sometimes. You think you got X foot of X gauge wire on your truck. Only to find out that your a few feet short if you try to use it.

If a supply house is 15 minutes away, not a big deal to go get the smaller size wire. If your an hour away. Ooops.
Then a larger gauge is less extra cost then the gas or time.

Other then that. It is a waste to use a gauge 2 sizes bigger then what the unit or length needs.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split System Replace, Resell? golddog HVAC 3 06-25-2010 04:38 PM
Electric furnace makes loud noise like a breaker when it starts?? epyke HVAC 5 10-13-2009 06:03 PM
Is 1/2 Pex more restrictive than 1/2 copper? twilightcall Plumbing 19 06-24-2008 08:32 AM
Line set size for Central AC JoeFL77 HVAC 5 05-21-2008 10:23 AM
Electric Line Under Ground Crazy Legs Electrical 9 04-15-2008 11:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts