Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2010, 10:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Coast
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

micro amp thermostat


DV-35 Empire. Direct Vent furnace.

Ever hear of a thermostat wire developing a short in it, 10 years after it was installed?

The electricity is generated by a pilot heated thermo-pile, no line voltage (110VAC)

Thanks


Last edited by okrite; 04-03-2010 at 01:24 PM.
okrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 12:02 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,079
Rewards Points: 50
Default

micro amp thermostat


It happens.

It also often happens that the short is in the heater itself.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 03:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Default

micro amp thermostat


Thats a millivolt system, and should have a millivolt thermostat. Have you tried to bypass your thermostat? Just remove the 2 wires and twist them together and see if the burner fires. You're dealing with less than 1 volt, so don't worry about shocks.

Usually the wire should last forever, unless someone clipped it or an animal ate through it.




Last edited by beenthere; 04-08-2010 at 03:00 PM. Reason: Removed link to another forum
User75130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 09:46 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Coast
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

micro amp thermostat


Lady said it went on one time and did not turn off. Had a pro out there twice, said he jiggled the wire and it is working OK.
Don't really like the situation.

She put in new baseboard and maybe grazed the wire with a nail. She has a cat, maybe he chewed it up. I thought the tech would fix it but said something to the tenant about having to pull sheet rock gave her a bill and left.

He said the first time he looked at it he could not get it to malfunction.

Was thinking about a wireless stat. ECS makes a battery operated wireless for that unit, so I'd have put the receiver in a cut-in box next to the heater, the stat would mount where the old one is.

Or just put a new stat and new wire closer to the D-V heater.

She 's got a gucci paint job and I'd have to drill some small holes and make few back rock patches for a whole new line. Then match the paint and all.

I have a friend in the business who seems to know a little more about these type units and their problems.

Guess I ought to check it myself and see if there is any bad insulation near the stat or heater. Maybe when they did the baseboard they bumped the wire too close to the Hx.

Beenthere said might be a short in the unit itself.
Thanks

Last edited by okrite; 04-03-2010 at 10:17 PM.
okrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd Thermostat "Fan On" issue TJ_in_IL HVAC 9 03-30-2010 09:05 PM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove jrodtaclet Electrical 4 09-15-2009 05:37 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 10:07 PM
Thermostat from Manual to Digital trinamillersmit HVAC 5 07-02-2009 09:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.