Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2011, 06:32 PM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
verify that its running on low speed. I would render a guess, that the 11" insert is too long, and yours needs a 5 or 8". And someone put in an 11 because that is what they had with them. Check the tem p from the register when the fan is just about to shut off.
Is there a way to find out what the correct insert length should be? Is checking the temp going to help me confirm this?

Arjun007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 07:50 PM   #47
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,741
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


If you have the install manual it may have a parts break down, or parts list. Local distributor can tell you.

Post brand and FULL model number, and one of us may be able to tell you, if its a brand we work on commonly.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 08:21 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If you have the install manual it may have a parts break down, or parts list. Local distributor can tell you.

Post brand and FULL model number, and one of us may be able to tell you, if its a brand we work on commonly.
Here's a pic of the label on the furnace. It seems the manual I have references a different model #. I wonder if they are not the same.



INTER CITY PRODUCTS CORP (CANADA) H7L 3W3
STYLE NO NUO84AF
MODEL NO NUOD084BFA1 OUN084B12A1
SERIAL NO C951204607
MFR NO NUOD084BFA1
Arjun007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 08:35 PM   #49
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,741
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


I'll see what I can find out tomorrow, when supply houses are open.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 08:38 PM   #50
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
I'll see what I can find out tomorrow, when supply houses are open.
Thank you VERY much beenthere!!
Arjun007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 09:34 PM   #51
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


When you change the F&L control make sure to look at the info imprinted in the black plastic.Some years ago they switched the fan side and the limit side .Just make sure your blower wire is on the fan side and the other is on the limit side.
You will have to compare it to the old rusty one.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to REP For This Useful Post:
Arjun007 (12-14-2011)
Old 12-12-2011, 09:40 PM   #52
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by REP View Post
When you change the F&L control make sure to look at the info imprinted in the black plastic.Some years ago they switched the fan side and the limit side .Just make sure your blower wire is on the fan side and the other is on the limit side.
You will have to compare it to the old rusty one.

Thanks for the heads up. The new one matches to the old rusty one and I am assuming it was set up correctly in the old one.
Arjun007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 04:14 PM   #53
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


You could adjust that thermostat anticipater to .8 to desensitize it but I think following the posts on how to lower the fan speed from the yellow lead to the red lead (if you have a red lead from your motor), or temporarily unpluging the high/mid speed line to see if the fan speed drops or stops would give us better info to work with.
If this doesn't make sense to you..ask questions about it.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:10 PM   #54
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by how View Post
You could adjust that thermostat anticipater to .8 to desensitize it but I think following the posts on how to lower the fan speed from the yellow lead to the red lead (if you have a red lead from your motor), or temporarily unpluging the high/mid speed line to see if the fan speed drops or stops would give us better info to work with.
If this doesn't make sense to you..ask questions about it.
I unplugged the high/med speed line and ran the fan by pushing in the white button on the limit control. The fan speed seemed to be the same so I'm guessing the yellow line plugged into low really is for the heat. I was trying to take out the yellow to counter test but it was jammed and I didn't want to break it so left it.

I'll test it again real soon when I have someone else to confirm the fan speed for me from the register. I posted a pic of the blower and do see a red line but not sure if thats what was being referred to. If so, I don't really see an end that I could use cuz one is attaced to the blower and the other leads into the electrical fan speed box from the side. Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks again.





Arjun007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:12 PM   #55
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
I'll see what I can find out tomorrow, when supply houses are open.
Hello beenthere - any luck finding out what the arm length should be for the model furnace i have?

Thanks
Arjun007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:13 PM   #56
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,741
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


Turn off the power. Open the box, and see if the red wire from the motor is the one connected to the yellow from the fan limit. If so, its on low speed, if its another color, its n ot on its low speed.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Arjun007 (12-14-2011)
Old 12-13-2011, 10:13 PM   #57
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,741
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


And no, didn't get to check today.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:28 PM   #58
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Turn off the power. Open the box, and see if the red wire from the motor is the one connected to the yellow from the fan limit. If so, its on low speed, if its another color, its n ot on its low speed.
based on the picture I see:

LO = orange cord
M Lo = red cord
M Hi = blue cord
Hi = Black cord

How does orange rank in speed?

Should I move the yellow cord to the M Lo and test if the fan speed goes down?
Or should I swap the orange cord for the red cord in the box? (I see a capacitor - does it hold a charge you think even when the power is off?)

Arjun007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 11:17 PM   #59
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


Swap the orange and red lines within the box in your last picture. This will park the orange line somewhere safe and connect the lowest fan speed (red) to the low speed power.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
Arjun007 (12-14-2011)
Old 12-13-2011, 11:18 PM   #60
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Default

Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole


By the way, I was playing around with my old rusty fan limit control and I was able to increase the limit to 200.

I had to place a paper clip into a little hole on the top surface of the dial where it says caution and move the limit. I read that in the manual of the new one I bought. Spend a few to learn you didn't need to.... oh the Irony.

Wonder if Grainger will refund me.... I'll ask and see what they say.

FYI for the future in case this helps someone save a hundred bucks and a trip.

(If no refund I am hoping to exchange it for the correct arm length should beenthere find the one installed is incorrect.)

Arjun007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
flex duck vs metal duck fhammette HVAC 21 12-19-2011 06:30 AM
Metal duct or flex? smokey982 HVAC 6 08-06-2010 06:20 AM
Thoughts and ideas basement finishing and HVAC creamaster HVAC 1 03-10-2010 07:46 PM
Metal framing for basement Drop Cieling? joliet_man@yahoo.com Carpentry 3 10-22-2008 01:16 PM
Replace furnace, coil and duct system sps123 HVAC 2 01-07-2006 10:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.