Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2007, 11:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

main line to feed attic


what i need to do is feed my attic with atleast 700 cfm so i can feed 4 rooms in the second floor. i will be coming of one side of the plenum with rectangular duct and goin throught the second floor and sexond floor into attic. i think the size is 16 * 8 or 20 * 8. well my main questuin is once i run the rectangular duct to the attic do i need to put another plenum in the attic in which to connect the round ducts that will be feeding the 4 rooms with heat. or do i just use a 14 or 16 round duct and den branch off the round duct in the ceiling

qnzkrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 02:59 PM   #2
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 0
Default

main line to feed attic


You need to do a manual D on the system to figure out what sizes you need. This would take into account how many turns, static pressure desired, velocity etc. There is no good rule of thumb to get it right.

hvac122 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 03:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Default

main line to feed attic


my main question is, do you go from rectangular duct into another plenum in the attic of you would just connect directly to the duct that goes to the second floor. i am really sorry guys if i am annoying anobody with these questions is that i just want to make i ask as many questions as i can . i just like to be well informed before i tackle anything. i am aware i would need to do a manual d to size the ducts correctly as i already did a muanul j for my heat and loss of my whole house. i just want to know how the transition of connections go . thanks again
qnzkrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 03:54 PM   #4
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 0
Default

main line to feed attic


Either square or round as long as its sized properly. We would run a trunk line down the attic and branch to each room with dampers on the takeoffs.
hvac122 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No water coming from main water line in bathroom sassylaroo Plumbing 6 10-29-2007 05:34 AM
Problem with Main Line or Not? reibuild Plumbing 2 05-02-2007 10:41 AM
Main drain line lmanwarren Plumbing 1 04-06-2006 12:32 AM
Main Sewer Line repair Unregistered Plumbing 3 03-14-2005 07:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.