Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2006, 12:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Luxaire probane furnance problem


I have a luxaire propane furnance installed 5 years ago. it has always worked good. this year it starting giving us trouble with 4 beep codes of High Limit Switch. I called a local tech out and replaced the High Limit Switch and it worked great for about a week. since he as came back out and installed another new and it lasted only 2 days. We are now running the furnace with a jumper wire to bypass the High Limit Switch. What could cause the unit to keep blowing High Limit Switch?

jlyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 12:40 PM   #2
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Luxaire probane furnance problem


Hi jlyle

First thing you need to do is remove that jumper wire before you burn your house down or destroy your heat exchanger. The second thing you need to do is fire your HVAC company and find a good one. The problem you are having could be a plugged air filter or blower motor not running up to speed or a plugged evaporator. There could also be insulation loose inside the duct work restricting the airflow. The limit switch is there in case any of the metioned happens. Find yourself a good HVAC company and have them fix the problem.

Good luck
Rusty

#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 09:01 PM   #3
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Luxaire probane furnance problem


Never bypass any safety device on a furnace. Everything is there for a reason.
rakes9720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 11:29 PM   #4
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,344
Rewards Points: 524
Default

Luxaire probane furnance problem


Who put the jumper wire on if the hvac guy did i would think he could have his license suspened for that couldn't he CARRIERMAN.???
747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 12:10 PM   #5
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Luxaire probane furnance problem


Hi Guys

Not sure in the state this person lives in and what the laws are there. But if the heat exchanger fails or the house is burned down, this particular company just assumed the liability for the problem, if they were the ones that installed the jumper wire. If the jumper was installed by the homeowner under the instruction of the company, the same rules apply. Either way it could end bad for the HVAC company.

Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New High Efficiency Furnace Problem Buster 567 HVAC 8 12-13-2010 09:36 PM
furnace problem captjack HVAC 8 11-23-2007 12:15 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM
luxaire furnace problem Joeymartin HVAC 1 12-14-2006 05:58 PM
A/C Thermostat Problem therumblefish HVAC 7 11-01-2006 09:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.