Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2007, 09:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

luxaire furnace wont fire


I have a luxaire furnace that wont fire - pilot will but the main burner wont
patobrien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 07:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 281
Default

luxaire furnace wont fire


We could probably use a bit more info to help you out better.
Does your furnace fan run if you switch it to the manual setting? Is your furnace a standing pilot unit or does the pilot start every time the furnace calls for heat? Have you made any changes lately to the thermostat or anything else that may effect the system? Not trying to be difficult, it will just narrow down what we can reccomend for you to check.
HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 10:02 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default

luxaire furnace wont fire


Quote:
Originally Posted by HVACDave View Post
We could probably use a bit more info to help you out better.
Does your furnace fan run if you switch it to the manual setting? Is your furnace a standing pilot unit or does the pilot start every time the furnace calls for heat? Have you made any changes lately to the thermostat or anything else that may effect the system? Not trying to be difficult, it will just narrow down what we can reccomend for you to check.
sorry-I didnt give you much to work with. I had just converted tfrom propane to NG and the pilot element would heat up and light the first burner tube but the flame would not travel across to the other tubes and since the heat sensor on the far right didn't sense any flame it shut down..Turns out because propane is so mch dirtier or at least causes some buildup the cross over tube was not getting gas to the other tubes. once we cleaned things up it fired great.
patobrien is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Luxaire furnace flame out Tuckrb HVAC 14 01-28-2012 10:00 AM
Gas furnace won't fire Peter Weber HVAC 2 02-08-2007 02:19 PM
Burner won't fire on Payne 490AAV furnace lwhpops HVAC 2 10-20-2006 03:03 PM
Luxaire furnace fails to fire cheesegrump HVAC 1 01-10-2006 07:36 PM
Luxaire Furnace mobear HVAC 1 03-13-2005 11:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.