Luxaire Furnace Overtemping! - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2009, 08:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Luxaire Furnace Overtemping!


I Have A Luxaire Furnace Model# Gs100aa Series Na-30jcmb. The Furnace Runs For About Five Minutes Then The Load Limiter Trips Off the Gas Valve. I Have Already Changed To Load Limiter Its Set At 200 Far.the Air Filter Is New And There Is No Cracks I Can Detect In The Heat Exchanger.can Anyone Help Me Please.i'm Out Of Ideas Or Were I Can Get A Manual For It. Thanks Alot

Advertisement

MIKE77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 08:26 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,121
Rewards Points: 880
Default

Luxaire Furnace Overtemping!


Tripping due to a lack of airflow. Check the A/C coil underneath for blockage with dirt. Make sure the fan is clean and running properly. Make sure all the ducts/vents are open and clean.

Advertisement

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Luxaire Furnace Overtemping!


I Check The Bottom Of Th A/c Coil There Was Little Debris. I Took A Shop-vac And Cleaned The Coils The Best I Could Still Overtemping.i Look At The Blower Motor And The Squirel Cage Seem O.k Also. I Know I Have A Airflow Problem Because It Wont Overtemp If I Pull The Cover Off The Front Of The Furnace Were The Blower Is Located.
MIKE77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 07:51 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Luxaire Furnace Overtemping!


How long have you had this furnace.
How long has it had this problem.

The A/C coil, can still be the problem. Just because you removed the surface dirt, doesn't mean the dirt between the fins is gone.

What size is the supply duct, and what size is the return duct.

How many supplies, and how many returns.
Along with size of them.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 08:10 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Luxaire Furnace Overtemping!


The Furnace Is Old I Can't Firgure Out How Old But It's Old. The Problem Just Started Nothing Was Changed With Duct Size On Supply Or Return Side All Vents Are Open. If There Is Dirt In The Fins Any Suggestion On How To Clean It In Place Were It Is.my Return Duct Dim. Are 9x5 23x5 And 13x5. I Have Seven Total 10x4 Vents In Each Room.
MIKE77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 12:20 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Luxaire Furnace Overtemping!


Simple green.
Sprayed from both sides.
Let soak, then rinse.
Then repeat.

Could also be, your blower isn't at full RPM.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 09:55 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Luxaire Furnace Overtemping!


Well, I Tried Everything I Was Suggested, Everything I Did Made A Dramatic Increase In Airflow. But Still Would Over-temp. So Sitting There Dumb Found At This Thing I Deciced To Start Cleaning And Vaccuming The Inside Of The Furnace. I Took A Tooth Brush And Vacuum Nozzle And Scrubed The Inside Of The Mouth Of The Burner Tubes Right Were The Natural Gas And Air Mix Together. Started It Up And Ran For About 45 Minutes Without It Overtempting. I Guess The Airfuel Mixture Could Of Been Wrong Causing To Hot Of A Flame In The Heat Exchanger.i Don't Know But It Works. Thanks Beenether And Yuri For Your Help I Apperciate It Tremedously.well I'm Off To Fight A New Housing Battle. Mike Here With Fingers Crossed Signing Out! Thanks Again Everyone.

Advertisement

MIKE77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Luxaire furnace flame out Tuckrb HVAC 14 01-28-2012 11:00 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM
Luxaire Furnace shuts off intermittently akarch HVAC 2 03-02-2008 09:21 PM
Luxaire Furnace mobear HVAC 1 03-13-2005 12:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts