Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2008, 06:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
Share |
Default

LUX digital stat Trane XE80 intermittant problem


I just moved into this house and replaced the original Honeywell analog stat with the LUX programable stat. I used the 2 wire config, since there are only 2 wires from the furnace to the stat. It has been working fine for the last month except on 2 occassions that the furnace did not turn on. This does not happen all the time. When it does happen and I "manually" increase the thermostat the furnace turns on.

Example 1) This morning I noticed the temp was 65 the stat was set to 68, but the heat never came on. When I turned the stat to 69 the heat started. I have it programmed to go to 68 about an hour before I get up.

Example 2) The last time this happened I turned the stat down while the furnace was on. When the temp went below the stat setting the furnace did not turn on. Again I had to manually adjust the stat and everything worked fine, until today.

Should I suspect the stat or the furnace?

rossl56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 10:20 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 419
Default

LUX digital stat Trane XE80 intermittant problem


Probably just a bad stat, Lux is not the best brand out there. Go over to lowes or H.D. and grab a good Honeywell stat. Make sure you shut the power off first so you dont fry your transformer or blow a fuse.l

sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 12:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
Default

LUX digital stat Trane XE80 intermittant problem


Got a Honeywell will return the LUX. Anyone else have an opinion?

My concern is that the furnace control board is getting "confused" when I interupt the heat on cycle by turning down the stat.
rossl56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 02:58 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

LUX digital stat Trane XE80 intermittant problem


The furnace doesn't know the difference between you adjusting the stat, and the stat operating normally.

Lux stats, aren't made to be high quality.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 01:09 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
Default

LUX digital stat Trane XE80 intermittant problem


problem was resolved since the Honeywell was installed
rossl56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 06:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

LUX digital stat Trane XE80 intermittant problem


lux used to be a good dishsoap never was a good tstat

lux socalled because you had to rely on your luck that your system worked after it was installed


happy holidays
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 05:53 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
Default

LUX digital stat Trane XE80 intermittant problem


I had no lux with mine

rossl56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XE80 not(?) hot enough rossl56 HVAC 5 11-28-2008 02:34 AM
Trane XE 80 Problem ShotgunW HVAC 14 12-30-2007 09:00 PM
Trane 80xl, 3 flashes error light - draft pressure problem, help? Xsta HVAC 1 10-14-2007 08:20 PM
Trane XE80 Heating Question, Please help!!! Stephen1977 HVAC 3 01-30-2007 06:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.