Looking To Update My Thermostat, Whats Compatable With My Carrier System - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2010, 10:29 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


I have posted elsewhere sorry for a repeat ..

I have a carrier comfortzone II 4 zone system in my house. I want to upgrade my thermostat. Its a pain to program and latley its not holding the programming right..so i have to just hold temps on each zone

What t-stats are plug and play compatable with my system? I would love to get an infinity t-stat but is it compatable?

I just want to have to buy a t-stat not change any control boards... below is a link to my system... thanks!

http://www.residential.carrier.com/p...tzone-ii.shtml

Advertisement

detyianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 10:30 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


oh by the way Ive contacted different vendors and no one can give me a straight answer so i dont want to drop 200+ on a fancy tstat to find out it does not work... hopefully someone will have replaced a tstat on my system.. thanks again!

Advertisement

detyianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 04:06 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


ive looked at your link and if that one stat controls controls all your zones, then I know of NO available t-stat besides exact replacement that will control all zone from the one stat
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 05:48 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
ive looked at your link and if that one stat controls controls all your zones, then I know of NO available t-stat besides exact replacement that will control all zone from the one stat
Well if that's disapointing if that's the case....

Do I have a bad tstat? Here is the main issue...I painstakingly programmed it again last night and woke up to the heat on in two of my zones when no heat should have been on until 6am...

The hold function works fine ...so after some swearing I put hold on all zones and here I am.
detyianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 06:27 AM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


Quote:
Originally Posted by detyianni View Post
Well if that's disapointing if that's the case....

Do I have a bad tstat? Here is the main issue...I painstakingly programmed it again last night and woke up to the heat on in two of my zones when no heat should have been on until 6am...

The hold function works fine ...so after some swearing I put hold on all zones and here I am.
sounds like its mot being done correctly or a bad stat. Call a carrier dealer.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 09:28 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


Thats carrier/Bryant only. no other stat will work.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 01:00 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


Hmm ok so I email carrier direct to find a replacement they tell me to call carrier dealer...carrier dealers want to sell me a whole new setup when I just want the tstat...guess ill find the model number and start googling...
detyianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 06:41 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


Quote:
Originally Posted by detyianni View Post
Hmm ok so I email carrier direct to find a replacement they tell me to call carrier dealer...carrier dealers want to sell me a whole new setup when I just want the tstat...guess ill find the model number and start googling...

Carrier doesn't deal direct to with the general public. Only with their distributors and dealers.

Simply ask a carrier dealer if the stat is made anymore.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 05:50 PM   #9
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


It is sold as a set. Stat, room sensors, outdoor sensor and LAT sensor with a new zone control board.

Last edited by Houston204; 12-24-2010 at 05:57 PM.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 06:06 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
It is sold as a set. Stat, room sensors, outdoor sensor and LAT sensor with a new zone control board.
Well its about time you saw this thread.

have a happy holiday.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 02:39 AM   #11
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


Merry Christmas
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 12:44 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

looking to update my thermostat, whats compatable with my carrier system


Thanks everyone...I managed to get a new tstat that is going to be sent to me...so last question on this hopefully...

One the new same tstat is there any configuration necessary except for the time or just wire it like the old one and I am all set?

Advertisement

detyianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier a/c condenser fan motor still running slowly after thermostat is satisfied GetYourShineBox HVAC 18 06-14-2013 12:26 PM
Carrier Edge Thermostat Installation Issue ptalar HVAC 1 07-13-2010 06:40 PM
Carrier Infinity thermostats integrate with control4 2.0 Proteco HVAC 0 07-09-2010 06:33 PM
do I need to use the infinity thermostat with the infinity system or can I use the edge aar HVAC 3 07-07-2010 07:42 PM
new system install.....questions firedogut HVAC 4 10-04-2009 08:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts