Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2007, 06:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

looking for geothrmal loop design


where can i look at a pond loop layout for 2000ft of 1/14 pipe i want to see how layout of piping would look in pond ,iam going to install own loop and contractor is going to install geothermal heat pump,i just need to see a design layout i have a guy that has sank them before going to help me thanks

cbprov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 06:55 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

looking for geothrmal loop design


http://content.answers.com/main/cont...p_Close_Up.jpg
http://content.answers.com/main/cont...Being_Sunk.jpg


12 ton loop.

sams7267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 06:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

looking for geothrmal loop design


anything with more detail
cbprov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 07:08 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

looking for geothrmal loop design


one person i was talking to told me i could use 4- 500 ft rolls of 1/14 pipe and run them 4 beside eack other and tie wrap them together so i would apx have a 16x 40 rectangle by thee time it is spread out laying flat looped on its side he said with going over sized pipe i did not have to run a manifold just loop them together joing at each end so it flows in 1 loop and through the next until it comes out of the last loop and back to the heat pump ,is this a recommended method or do you have to run the 4 loops in a manifold not one just a supply and return from all four loops that are tied in in a series thanks
cbprov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 07:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

looking for geothrmal loop design


I wouldn't do it without a manifold. You need it dispersed for efficiency. The loop I showed you is one of the best pics I could find. It harder to make but better for your purpose and your "lake". It will spread the temperatures better than the design you are refering to.

Do a little research... you'll find a single oversized loop is hardly ever used.
sams7267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 07:54 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

looking for geothrmal loop design


why is that thanks
cbprov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 07:58 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

looking for geothrmal loop design


You need it dispersed for efficiency.
sams7267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 08:12 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

looking for geothrmal loop design


Okay time to be honest , i had taken his design and had installed it in my pond which is now frozen over in the last week , the contractor was going to hook me up next week ,i have electric horizontal frurnace now, i had ordered a upflow geo pump they where going to install dampers so i did not have to take out my exist furnace the plenum was big enough ,is it worth the contractor hooking up the geo or should i wait for spring and rip it out and start over thanks for your advice,

Last edited by cbprov; 11-19-2007 at 08:14 PM. Reason: d
cbprov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 08:24 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

looking for geothrmal loop design


I hope that you fix it... it wouldn'y be all that hard to do. Thought I do understand not wanting to wait... maybe you could give your design a shot - there's more than one way to do anything.

Good luck.

sams7267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you use a loop roller? redline Painting 8 04-02-2013 09:05 AM
studor vs. loop vent amakarevic Plumbing 8 11-15-2007 01:05 AM
loop vent or auto-vent amakarevic Plumbing 4 08-21-2007 12:28 PM
Boiler Primary Loop Choices Mike Warner HVAC 7 07-16-2007 10:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.