Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 10:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Share |
Default

Lining an Old Chimney


I have been wanting a wood stove for years, and finally found a good deal on craigslist. Got an older Appalachian stove for $50. It is designed as an "insert" and not a freestanding, do any of you think this will be a problem?

The mortar in the chimney is crumbling out, so I figured a liner would be the easiest solution. Can I just use the single wall pipe at Lowes that is ~$10 for a 2' section? How to connect the sections? Rivets? Screws? Tape? Does it need to be supported?

My house is 1800 sq ft. Should I use 6" or 8" pipe? ANy other input appreciated. I am attaching a picture of the stove.
Attached Images
 

Fisher252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 06:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,291
Default

Lining an Old Chimney


ther a local codes and safety regulations in place to help with your install needless to say insurance issues as well ...I would not use single wall pipe this is a wood burnner. these get very hot most require at least double wall designed for it others requirer tripple stainless....not abig wood burnning fan ..hang tite some others will comment as well..ben

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 06:30 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,210
Default

Lining an Old Chimney


You may think you got a good deal until you see what the pipe and asserarys are going to cost you.
Your post said chimmney lining, do you already have a fireplace or at least a chimmney to connect this to, or is this a new install with nothing there?
An insert will not have a round piece to attach a pipe to, most do not even have feet to get it off the floor.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 06:35 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,210
Default

Lining an Old Chimney


http://www.ventingpipe.com/selkirk-metalbest/c24
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 08:49 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Default

Lining an Old Chimney


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Your post said chimmney lining, do you already have a fireplace or at least a chimmney to connect this to, or is this a new install with nothing there?

Well, how could I line a chimney, if I didn't have a chimney? Yes, I have a chimney, and like I said in the first post, the mortar is starting to crumble, which is why I feel I need a liner... The fireplace is only about 12" deep.


My main question is- Will there be any type of problems using an insert as a freestanding wood stove?
Fisher252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 10:18 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 68
Default

Lining an Old Chimney


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fisher252 View Post
My main question is- Will there be any type of problems using an insert as a freestanding wood stove?
Yes many, an insert is completely different then a freestanding stove (it's venting is different, mounting, protections and other stuff).

A few manufacturers use the same base "body" for both freestanding and insert, but you have to buy a bunch of parts (expensive) to convert it from one unit to the other. If you want to go that route contact the manufacturer for a conversion kit. I just resell it on craigs list and look for a free standing unit, save you a lot of money and trouble...

Last edited by bungalow_steve; 12-09-2011 at 10:28 AM.
bungalow_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 06:07 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,736
Default

Lining an Old Chimney


chimneyman, read the PM I sent you. No posting of links to your website. You may purchase advertising on this site.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 06:17 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,736
Default

Lining an Old Chimney


He has no vested interest in that company. You may post links to other companies that you have no vested interest in. But not to your company.

Perhaps you should read all of the rules and TOS.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (02-13-2013)
Old 02-13-2013, 06:23 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Lining an Old Chimney


That's not joes site. We can post helpful links but not if we have financial interest in the company.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capping my chimney sbmfj General DIY Discussions 9 10-29-2011 10:45 AM
Chimney repair advice needed cbrc5eric Building & Construction 2 04-04-2010 06:32 AM
Concrete block Chimney problems scoggy Building & Construction 0 03-09-2010 07:00 PM
Roof Leak Around Chimney robertr4836 Roofing/Siding 3 03-11-2008 11:23 AM
Looks like leaking around the chimney - roofer says it is the chimney itself Salvatorparadise Roofing/Siding 6 03-07-2008 03:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.