Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2012, 10:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Lineset Length


I'm having my A/C replaced.. The installed says that he install a 20ft lineset. Since to get to me unit it is less (prob. 12ft) he will just make a loop in the lineset becuase a min of 20ft is always suggested. My old a/c does not have that, it just goes direct to the unit. Is this normal???? Or is he feeding me some BS???
RKory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 11:05 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

Lineset Length


Most new units come precharged for a 15' line set. So he's slinging a little BS, or doesn't know better.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 12:16 PM   #3
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

Lineset Length


If this is a pre-charged line set he may have to coil it up or cut it shorter.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 12:36 PM   #4
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Lineset Length


It makes vwery little differance how he does it but to cut the line set may require two new brazed connections and anytime you eliminate a braze connection is usually a good thing.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 01:11 PM   #5
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

Lineset Length


Yeah but, if you coil it it can make noise.

When we were using quick-connect Heil ac, a long time ago, I remember going on several nuisance call-backs for noise beacause Uncle had coiled the the excess linset up in the joists.

After that he bought exact length line-sets when ever possible.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on replacing lineset OtherHand HVAC 6 04-26-2011 08:37 AM
AC Temp drop over plenum run length BlueBSH HVAC 23 06-22-2010 08:10 AM
Lineset Install Einride HVAC 7 06-26-2009 07:00 PM
Hardwood Length...preference? JDeFuria Flooring 3 03-10-2009 05:38 PM
total effective length question drewhart HVAC 2 01-27-2009 08:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.