Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 09:53 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Line set max length


Placing components on my drawings - is there a max recommended line set length? If it matters it will be a 2 - 2.5t hp, depending upon the calcs.

ratflinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 10:05 AM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Line set max length


I've been told it was 100' max but I've never seen one that long. Make sure you've pulled a vacuum down to 500 microns and charge by subcool or superheat.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
ratflinger (03-09-2013)
Old 03-09-2013, 10:22 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,527
Rewards Points: 2,734
Default

Line set max length


Each manufacturer will have their own max line set length. So you need to check with the manufacturer your specing.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
COLDIRON (03-10-2013), gregzoll (03-09-2013), ratflinger (03-09-2013)
Old 03-09-2013, 11:50 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,605
Rewards Points: 2,348
Default

Line set max length


50 feet is usually the best option. after that you have to upsize the suction line and that gets VERY expensive as larger copper is VERY expensive. shorter line sets are always better for the compressor as you get better oil return to it and makes it last longer.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
COLDIRON (03-10-2013), ratflinger (03-09-2013)
Old 03-09-2013, 02:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Line set max length


Thanks everyone - the quality answers I was looking for!
ratflinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas dryer - installing flexible gas line mspmatt Plumbing 11 12-30-2011 04:32 PM
Line to line load on a MWBC? rjniles Electrical 13 12-09-2011 07:09 AM
New ICe maker line causes ice to taste like rubber speedster1 Plumbing 5 06-27-2010 08:09 AM
A blocked water line causing water to loose heat? Snav Plumbing 6 05-07-2010 02:18 PM
electric line and gas line couch potatoe Electrical 17 09-30-2008 10:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.