Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2009, 03:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Angry

Limit control switch help


Does anyone know how to bypass a limit control switch so that the thermostat will still kick the blower on and off?


Last edited by farnsworth6406; 01-12-2009 at 03:24 PM. Reason: Had to re-word post
farnsworth6406 is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 04:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Limit control switch help


Bypassing safety switches is very dangerous and not recommended.

SKIP4661 is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 05:24 PM   #3
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Limit control switch help


Why do you want to bypass the limit?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 05:35 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,071
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Limit control switch help


Not something that should be done, even if you only want to run the blower to circulate heat, from another source.

Too easy for someone to accidentally, turn the stat up to use the furnace.
beenthere is online now  
Old 01-12-2009, 10:09 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Limit control switch help


thermostat controls the burner not the blower. You can put the blower on the "on" position which will run 24/7 but the burner limit should never be bypassed.
thelimit is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 11:07 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Limit control switch help


Quote:
Originally Posted by thelimit View Post
thermostat controls the burner not the blower. You can put the blower on the "on" position which will run 24/7 but the burner limit should never be bypassed.

It is an old fashioned thermostat. It doesn't have an on/off. You turn the dial to the desired temp. That's it.
farnsworth6406 is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 11:14 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Limit control switch help


Also this is a wood furnace, not gas.
farnsworth6406 is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 11:20 AM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Limit control switch help


WOOD BURNER?

And you want to bypass the limit? Sorry we don't give info that will kill people

and cause house fire.

To knowingly by pass a safety limit is a felony.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 11:40 AM   #9
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Limit control switch help


Thread Closed due to unsafe and dangerous nature of subject.

AtlanticWBConst. is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fan limit control question sbriggs_1 HVAC 2 12-11-2008 07:09 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
GFCI switch to control outside outlets billgeo Electrical 14 09-08-2008 11:09 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.