Lights Blink - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2009, 10:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

lights blink


Ive noticed when the heat cuts on the lights blink just 4 a second. But ive never noticed it before.Been in this house 4 2 years.. any ideas

Advertisement

cdundon4va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 11:00 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

lights blink


Quote:
Originally Posted by cdundon4va View Post
Ive noticed when the heat cuts on the lights blink just 4 a second. But ive never noticed it before.Been in this house 4 2 years.. any ideas
by lights do you mean your house lamps, pot lights, etc.? If so I would assume it's due to the high draw of electricity to power on the hvac system. Believe it or not, I live in a brand new subdivision, with new fiber and under ground electrical, and during the summer, I can tell when my neighbor's ac kicks on because my lights will dim for a split second. It's wierd becuase when my ac turns on, I don't seem to notice the light flicker, but tbh, I haven't blown any fuses so I pretty much try not to worry about it...if it aint broke....no what i mean?? =)

Advertisement

Guam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 11:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

lights blink


4 years ?
2 years ?
42 years ?

What kind of heat ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 06:22 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

lights blink


been here for 2 years its electric heat pump.Just thought it was going to be a problem since it hasent done it before.
cdundon4va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 07:03 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

lights blink


Probably a weak capacitor.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 06:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

lights blink


You can check your incoming 240v connection integrity with an elec. dryer or cooktop. When you turn off the cooktop or dryer, the 240v measured at the panel shouldn't increase by more than 1/2v or so.

Checking the cap requires a digital voltmeter, a 9v battery and any 1 megohm resistor.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 12-02-2009 at 06:54 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 07:48 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

lights blink


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post

Checking the cap requires a digital voltmeter, a 9v battery and any 1 megohm resistor.
How do you tell if a capacitor is within +/- 6% of the named value that way?
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 08:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

lights blink


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
How do you tell if a capacitor is within +/- 6% of the named value that way?
Using a DVM with 0.6% or better accuracy. But, usually the tolerance on the cap is looser.

Advertisement

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 09:52 AM
Outdoor lights (Soffit etc) DIY_JC Electrical 2 09-25-2009 12:45 PM
Changing switch for lights in basement, confused on current wiring. RyanD Electrical 2 05-14-2009 09:37 PM
New lights in basement CooperChloe Electrical 11 01-11-2009 12:22 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 08:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts