Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2009, 11:21 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

Lennox Merit Series Furnace - Flame Sensor??


Hi everyone,

I've had this issue before, but had a repairman fix it. After I watched him, I realized how easily I could have cleaned the flame sensor on our furnace. I've noticed it's acting up again and would like to clean the flame sensor myself. SO, two questions:

It may seem simple enough, but how do I remove the top panel on the furnace??? The bottom panel lifts easily out, and the top panel has two metal gizmos on the top that I folded out, but can't seem to pull it down or out. Any ideas??

Once I get the panel off, where do I find the flame sensor?

Thanks!!!

dburell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 11:27 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Lennox Merit Series Furnace - Flame Sensor??


Okay, I removed the top panel
I think I see the flame sensor on the bottom portion of the furnace anyway...a rod that's pointed down??

dburell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 05:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 767
Default

Lennox Merit Series Furnace - Flame Sensor??


Not sure which way its pointed on your furnace, but I think they are typically secured with one screw, and have one wire coming off of it. Looks exactly like a steel rod, because thats exactly what it is. Some are bent, some are straight. When I researched this for my furnace, I found the suggestion to clean if with fine, gentle sand paper. Not sure why they suggested being so gentle with it ( its just a steel rod ), but I followed that suggestion, and it worked for me.
Only two words of caution:
1) turn off the power, of course
2) if you pull out a ceramic pretzel, that your ignitor, and you can break it just by looking at it wrong, so carefully put it back where you found it
SPS-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 08:13 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

Lennox Merit Series Furnace - Flame Sensor??


Sand paper is not good for a flame sensor rod.

While it is just a piece of metal. It has a coating to prevent pitting. And sand paper takes that coating off. And causes them to get dirty,corroded quicker.
Steel wool is what is to be used. Those green 3M pads work good are ok if you don't go over board.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Ruud furnace issue on upgrade board and flame sensor rubberman HVAC 22 01-15-2010 11:34 PM
Miller G5RA furnace flame sensor problem mpit52 HVAC 3 01-16-2009 10:30 AM
How to find and remove Furnace flame sensor Oliver2 HVAC 0 10-28-2008 06:38 PM
How to get to furnace flame sensor???? Emporio HVAC 10 02-01-2008 03:08 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.