Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-03-2008, 02:23 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Lennox HS29-311-3P Air Conditioner Not Working

Hi All,

My air conditioner (Lennox HS29-311-3P)went out about a week ago and I finally have had time to look at it. This is the original A/C unit and the house was built in 1994. So it is about 14 years old. I don't know if it is worth trying to fix the current A/C unit or if I should buy a newer one to improve the SEER value.

I see the following:

I have 18.4 V and 19.7 V through the relays of the A/C unit. The 19.7V wires goes to a small cylinder. There is voltage there as I shocked myself. From the small cylinder the wires travel to a large black cylinder (condenser?). I can feel power on the fan and the "condenser" (This is my first time looking at an a/c unit. I believe the condenser is the big black cylinder inside the guard with the pipes hooked up to it. If it is called something else, please correct me). I measure 240V at the "condenser".

The fan does not turn and the "condenser" does not turn on.

I don't see any feedback from the "condenser" to the fan. Therefore, I believe that if the relays are pulled in, both should run. Both are not running.

What do I check from here?

Thank you to any who take an interest

John

olgranddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 08:36 PM   #2
oops, did I do that!

First problem is only 19v. Should be 24v. Inspect the small wire that goes to the outdoor unit for any nicks or cuts. Is there a disconnect outdoors, and are there fuses in it? Dont understand about the small cylidrical part, larger one sounds like the compressor. Could be a capacitor.

What do you mean, when you say you can "feel" power? Have you checked your breakers? Do you mean you can hear/feel a vibration?