Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2011, 08:05 PM   #16
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


Checked three electric air handlers today, pole to pole and individual leg to ground, one to make sure 15 kilowatts divided my 241 volts (total of each leg to ground) equated to 62.2 amps. Two legs of 120 on 4 awg wire (which is rated to 75 amps) each leg to a 70 amp Square D double pole breaker that was tripping in heating mode.

Guss what the problem was? Yup, they need an electrician, bad breaker.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:05 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


Thank you for being patient with this greenhorn. I'll check again. I borrowed this multimeter and not sure how to set it. It is a radio shack auto-range digital. I have it set to volts. If I place this in a regular outlet I get (.300v) I'm running down to check again
bucks454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:09 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by bucks454 View Post
Thank you for being patient with this greenhorn. I'll check again. I borrowed this multimeter and not sure how to set it. It is a radio shack auto-range digital. I have it set to volts. If I place this in a regular outlet I get (.300v) I'm running down to check again
you should see 120 volts give or take a few......makes me wonder if you have it on VDC instead of VAC ?
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:14 PM   #19
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by bucks454 View Post
Thank you for being patient with this greenhorn. I'll check again. I borrowed this multimeter and not sure how to set it. It is a radio shack auto-range digital. I have it set to volts. If I place this in a regular outlet I get (.300v) I'm running down to check again
I think you have it on milivolts. It should be on Volts Alternating Current, VAC.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:16 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


If L1 is load and L2 is line then I get (.630v)
bucks454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:23 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by bucks454 View Post
If L1 is load and L2 is line then I get (.630v)

LOL....no, L1 is LINE HOT L2 is neutral, doc and i both feel that you don't not have the meter set on the proper scale. when you put the two leads into a wall plug using the two slots ( l l ) you should see 120 give or take on your meter.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:28 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


I think I've figured out how this meter gets to VAC. At least now I am hitting 120 on a regular outlet. L1 and L2 read 163v. That is if L1 is line in and L2 is load out.
bucks454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:59 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


Just to explain what i see. The top of the transformer is marked "line" with two larger contacts. And "load" which has two smaller contacts.
bucks454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 09:15 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by bucks454 View Post
Just to explain what i see. The top of the transformer is marked "line" with two larger contacts. And "load" which has two smaller contacts.
what does the line voltage measure....put meter on two terminals marked line, also what dose voltage measure on load?
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 05:02 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


Follow up to my issue: Cutoff switch had a short, not allowing power into the furnace. This was found by 1) Digging out my multimeter I know how to run and giving back the digital one that was giving odd measurements. 2) Testing output at breaker which was 120v, then checked the input at the cutoff switch. I was surprised the connections were not wrapped in electrical tape. I measured 120v on the incomming wires so easy to assume the wire was good. I reconnected the wires, wrapped the switch with tape and put it back together and prayed it would fire. It did.
bucks454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 05:14 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


Thank you to Harleyrider, Doc Holliday, and Marty for your replies. What I've learned from this: Use the right tools that you know how to use, when it comes to power issues start from the source and work your way out. Now I have a few extra parts in case they fail in the future.
bucks454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 05:17 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Lennox G26 Furnace


yw

harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace control board, lennox, transformer no load


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible Lennox Furnace ignitor problem Paulg1 HVAC 4 11-26-2010 04:38 PM
Lennox Furnace Model #: 90UGFA3-75-6 GauravJ HVAC 3 10-30-2010 08:24 PM
Lennox Furnace Model #: 90UGFA3-75-6 GauravJ Electrical 0 10-29-2010 06:52 PM
Lennox ghr26 furnace problems wayfis HVAC 8 01-05-2010 05:51 PM
Lennox G11Q3E-110V-6 gas furnace neato5oh HVAC 1 10-07-2006 06:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.