Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2009, 11:08 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Share |
Default

leaking freon - nitrogen ?


Hey I got a unit that I think is leaking freon. I thought i put 5.5 pounds in it last week. the tenant called 3 days later and said it was freezing up. I checked the filter, coils and everything inside and cleaned inside coils. when I put my guages on the low side it did appear to be low on freon. I am still not sure if I am reading the guages correctly. So I recovered all the freon. YUP 5.5 pounds! not one ounce short. But when I pulled a vacuum it would not hold. It would hold for 10 min or so and then drop a little. So to make a long story short I am thinking about using nitrogen, but I dont have a clue how to do this.

Any help ?

wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 11:44 AM   #2
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 259
Default

leaking freon - nitrogen ?


Call an HVAC service tech to help you out.

sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 12:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Default

leaking freon - nitrogen ?


ok any other suggestions
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 12:32 PM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

leaking freon - nitrogen ?


what do you propose to do with the nitrogen pressure wise? Need to know so I can tell you which path of repair to take.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 09:51 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Default

leaking freon - nitrogen ?


Well I was going to start with a 100 and hope I could hear something. If not I will give it another 50 or so, or just see if it is holding. I have other stuff I could do while I wait an hour or so to see if it holds. If I do hear something, just hope I can get to it before I use 20 lbs of N1.
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 09:56 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

leaking freon - nitrogen ?


Not sure you're going to hear a small leak. One option is to charge to 200-300 psi and go around with soap bubbles to find the leak. That will only work on fittings, but not the coil. The other is to add a 1/2 pound of charge, add the N1 to 200-300 psi and then use an electronic leak detector. If this is a small leak you may need to be pretty close with a detector. It seems leak detection is part science, art and luck.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 10:04 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Default

leaking freon - nitrogen ?


I have tried the soap and the leak detector with no luck. I was told (and hoping) I would be able to hear a leak.
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 11:17 AM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

leaking freon - nitrogen ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dac122 View Post
Not sure you're going to hear a small leak. One option is to charge to 200-300 psi and go around with soap bubbles to find the leak. That will only work on fittings, but not the coil. The other is to add a 1/2 pound of charge, add the N1 to 200-300 psi and then use an electronic leak detector. If this is a small leak you may need to be pretty close with a detector. It seems leak detection is part science, art and luck.

300psig?? Thats a lot higher than some evap press burst test pressures.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 08:11 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

leaking freon - nitrogen ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wetbar View Post
Well I was going to start with a 100 and hope I could hear something. If not I will give it another 50 or so, or just see if it is holding. I have other stuff I could do while I wait an hour or so to see if it holds. If I do hear something, just hope I can get to it before I use 20 lbs of N1.
You don't need a constant head (tank valve open). Pressurize to whatever pressure and close off the tank.

A leak anywhere will show on your gauges.

BTW, it's N2
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 12:42 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Default

leaking freon - nitrogen ?


WOW! ok I went to 325 with out hearing anything. The pressure will hold for about an hour, and was holding when I left. I went around with soap with no luck. I was thinking I would go back in the morning to see if it was still holding. MY question is does freon leak faster then N2?

wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ridge Vent Leaking 35thLE Roofing/Siding 5 01-08-2009 11:33 AM
Leaking Shower Faucet sprtnfan Plumbing 2 12-20-2008 11:08 AM
Ice and Water Shiled over or under Drip Edge? Leaking Roof sbt3 Roofing/Siding 8 05-02-2008 11:00 PM
Leaking PVC Pipe kennykenny Plumbing 8 12-26-2007 08:53 PM
leaking bathtub mikeynholly Plumbing 1 02-11-2007 01:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.