Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2007, 10:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Large A/C Sleeve


Hello, I stay in a old building (1960s) and the in wall A/C units are rather large compared to modern A/C units. The sleeve is 42" wide by 16" high. The only units I can find now those sizes are overkill for the rooms they serve both in price and BTUs. Is there a way to install a smaller A/C unit in a bigger sleeve?

uncle_boogaloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2007, 03:05 PM   #2
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Large A/C Sleeve


The existing sleeve is proably for a P-Tac unit that heated and cooled the space originally. You can replace the sleeve with a more modern size like a 16" x 26".

bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2007, 06:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Large A/C Sleeve


I'm afraid that's not an option. The building is made of brick, and since it's a condo, they want to maintain the same exterior. So the only way I get a smaller sleeve is if everbody gets smaller sleeves (meaning everyone gets new A/C units).

Should I just get a PTAC unit? Does it require any special connections besides electricity?

Last edited by uncle_boogaloo; 08-19-2007 at 06:11 PM.
uncle_boogaloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2007, 10:08 PM   #4
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Large A/C Sleeve


Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle_boogaloo View Post
I'm afraid that's not an option. The building is made of brick, and since it's a condo, they want to maintain the same exterior. So the only way I get a smaller sleeve is if everbody gets smaller sleeves (meaning everyone gets new A/C units).

Should I just get a PTAC unit? Does it require any special connections besides electricity?
Nope, they slide in the sleeve and plug in. Do you know if any of the units have an original unit?
bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sleeve options for plumbing through concrete? Bruce L Plumbing 6 06-14-2008 09:38 AM
What do you use to reconnect a large gauge wire that was cut? bonedoc Electrical 9 08-10-2007 09:52 PM
going from 220 large wire to 220 small? bonedoc Electrical 7 08-06-2007 10:17 PM
Filling a Large Tub Blaze25 Plumbing 2 11-14-2006 06:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.