Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2012, 05:54 PM   #1
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

Just for troubleshooting fun....


Was on a troubleshooting call today for a AC unit running with a call for heat...

Any guesses what would cause this?

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 06:00 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Just for troubleshooting fun....


My first guess would be a bad reversing valve coil.

When you say "call for heat" bad thermostat or improperly programmed stat.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 06:21 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

Just for troubleshooting fun....


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
My first guess would be a bad reversing valve coil.

When you say "call for heat" bad thermostat or improperly programmed stat.

This was a single stage AC unit, no heat pump involved.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 07:31 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Just for troubleshooting fun....


Bad thermostat,thermostat wires shorted or a sequencer stuck closed.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 07:40 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

Just for troubleshooting fun....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Bad thermostat,thermostat wires shorted or a sequencer stuck closed.

I will add this, it is a simple solution, and remember, only when in HEATING mode and calls for heat does the AC kick on.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:05 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Just for troubleshooting fun....


HP thermostat instead of a heat/cool? What I really want to know is where are you?(still running heat on June 29th)
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:14 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

Just for troubleshooting fun....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
HP thermostat instead of a heat/cool? What I really want to know is where are you?(still running heat on June 29th)

To fill in the blanks, a heating contractor got a trouble call over the winter for the AC unit and the heat running at the same time, he couldn't find the problem so he removed the Rc, Rh jumper and then came summer... It was on my list of things to check out, after examining the air handler I knew the problem was in the tstat, after removing it, I looked at the back of the unit and the HP / NORM switch was in the HP mode... not sure why the heating contractor didn't find this, but it probably really messed with him since heat pumps are just starting to become more popular in this area and most are inexperienced with how they operate.

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.