Just Had Compressor Replaced, But Problem - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2011, 10:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


I just had a shorted compressor replaced. This is a 2 piece unit. It seems to cool fine for an hour or so, but then stops cooling completely. It was running for about 45 minutes and was 76 at the return and about 55 at the vent. I left the house for an hour and a half. Temps were 77 and 77. Could it just be low on freon? I plan to call the HVAC company tomorrow.

Advertisement


Last edited by Fisher252; 07-26-2011 at 10:29 PM.
Fisher252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 10:24 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


Blower motor is just circulation the air, not cooling. You need to check outside unit.

Advertisement

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 08:57 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


The fan on the outside unit is running. Anyone know if low freon will act like this?
Fisher252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:09 AM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fisher252 View Post
The fan on the outside unit is running. Anyone know if low freon will act like this?
low refrigerant. You should check if the coils are clean.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:12 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


So, are you saying that low refrigerant will cause this?
Fisher252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:15 AM   #6
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fisher252 View Post
So, are you saying that low refrigerant will cause this?
at this point, the tech needs to hook up the gauge and check pressures. temps, and Superheat and subcooling

Did the AC work correctly after you replace the compressor?
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.

Last edited by JJboy; 07-27-2011 at 09:18 AM.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:24 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


It was replaced Monday. I was gone when the tech finished up. When I got back a couple hours later, it was blowing warm air. It was too late to call. I turned the system off. Yesterday, I turned it on around 5:30 PM, and it seemed to be working fine, then I left around 6:15. Got back home at 7:30 and it was blowing warm air again.
Fisher252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:42 AM   #8
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fisher252 View Post
It was replaced Monday. I was gone when the tech finished up. When I got back a couple hours later, it was blowing warm air. It was too late to call. I turned the system off. Yesterday, I turned it on around 5:30 PM, and it seemed to be working fine, then I left around 6:15. Got back home at 7:30 and it was blowing warm air again.
In such case, You need to ask the service man. The line set was cleaned properly , pump down. If the lineset has any "dirty", it will cause this problem.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 06:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


It was a rainy day when the compressor was replaced. The driers were off the line for about 15 minutes while it was raining. Would that be an issue?
Fisher252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 06:54 PM   #10
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fisher252 View Post
It was a rainy day when the compressor was replaced. The driers were off the line for about 15 minutes while it was raining. Would that be an issue?
It was evacuated to 500 microns, no problem.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 06:58 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


Could be whatever killed the first compressor is trying to do the same with the new one. Shut it off until the guy comes back out.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 07:05 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
It was evacuated to 500 microns, no problem.
How do you know that it was evacuated to 500 microns?
Fisher252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 07:13 PM   #13
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fisher252 View Post
How do you know that it was evacuated to 500 microns?
Using a micron gauge during the evacuation. Many technicians (old school) does not use it. But it does not compromise the AC.

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 08:46 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


So, does anyone have any idea what this could be? After 1-2 hours of running, the compressor cuts off but the fan on the outside and inside unit continue to run.
Fisher252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 09:11 AM   #15
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Just had Compressor Replaced, but problem


Possible low refrigerant charge. This could be due to a leak created when the new compressor was installed or it may be due to a preexisting leak which may be what caused the original compressor to need replacement.

You need to have a good HVAC technician look at the system.

The system needs to be checked for leaks and proper pressures.
If a leak exists, and it is substantial, the remaining refrigerant may need to be recovered, the leak repaired, new liquid line filter-drier installed and the system vacuumed to at least 500 microns before being recharged again.

The company that installed the new compressor should stand behind their repair.

Advertisement

__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 TVs fried: Electrical vs. Comcast Coax Cable Problem LynOprinka Electrical 17 07-16-2012 09:01 PM
Very Strange Shower Drain Problem MattWhite Plumbing 12 05-21-2011 12:53 PM
Don't understand this breaker tripping problem majesticjess Electrical 10 03-05-2010 07:42 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts