It's Here! Honeywell Has Internet Enabled Thermostats! - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2011, 08:02 AM   #1
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

It's Here! Honeywell has internet enabled Thermostats!





This post is for all those out there such as myself who have been waiting for Honeywell to produce an internet enabled thermostat. That day is here!

Models supporting this are
ANY existing or new redlink wireless thermostat can be upgraded with a RedLink internet gateway. THM6000R


http://www.forwardthinking.honeywell...ct/50-1194.pdf


ALSO, Honeywell has now made all wireless focus pro thermostats DUAL FUEL capable
http://www.forwardthinking.honeywell...ualFuel_lr.pdf

Advertisement

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 10:00 AM   #2
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,089
Rewards Points: 590
Default

It's Here! Honeywell has internet enabled Thermostats!


Excellent. I have been using the 3M Filtrete version of a RadioThermostat (model 3M50) for a year or so and really enjoy the Internet connectivity. It works well but I'll be checking out the Honeywell for comparison.

One question that is key: will Honeywell charge a fee (monthly or annual) for the web interactivity? The other guys are free.

Advertisement

raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 10:08 AM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

It's Here! Honeywell has internet enabled Thermostats!


It is free. I already installed the ap on my phone. I think comparatively vs the radio stat for someone who has all the bells and whistles like. Twelfth then the Honeywell will be the way to go. I have humidification, dehumidification, and ventilation. So one control such as the prestige IAQ 2.0 will be the way to go. Currently I have the vision pro IAQ.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 10:17 AM   #4
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,089
Rewards Points: 590
Default

It's Here! Honeywell has internet enabled Thermostats!


Hmmm... One thing I don't like about the Honeywell is you need that separate internet gateway. The RTCOA connects directly to the router via wifi. One thing I like about the Honeywell is there is a wireless outdoor temp sensor available. I have an Aprilaire powered humidifier and it would be nice to be able to get a wireless outdoor temp signal to the humidistat. I suppose that would require some more Honeywell IAQ controls inside to do that?
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 10:20 AM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

It's Here! Honeywell has internet enabled Thermostats!


It would require at least the prestige iaq. This would allow your hvac stat to also control the humidifier with window frost protection.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 10:30 AM   #6
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,089
Rewards Points: 590
Default

It's Here! Honeywell has internet enabled Thermostats!


I have always used my Aprilaire 700 in manual mode and with my old mid-eff furnace pulling in dry air for combustion I never had frosting/condensation issues and the humidifier basically ran 100% of the time the furnace ran. But with my new direct vent furnace I am hoping to have better humidity retention. I will probably install the Aprilaire wired outside temp sensor and run the thing in auto this winter. Maybe look at upgrading to fancier IAQ next year depending on how this works out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
It would require at least the prestige iaq. This would allow your hvac stat to also control the humidifier with window frost protection.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 10:52 AM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

It's Here! Honeywell has internet enabled Thermostats!


For ease of installation of the wired stat for the humidifier. You can drill a hole in the intake of the direct vent furnace and install the sensor there. It wont be exactly accurate but will be close enough to do the job. And then you wont have to run. The wire all the way outside.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvactech126 For This Useful Post:
raylo32 (10-08-2011)
Old 10-08-2011, 11:24 AM   #8
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,089
Rewards Points: 590
Default

It's Here! Honeywell has internet enabled Thermostats!


Hey, that's a great idea! And it should be pretty accurate since the pipe run inside of conditioned space is only about 12 feet. I could install the sensor where it comes through the wall but not sure there would be significant warming in that 12 feet.

Thanks for the idea!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
For ease of installation of the wired stat for the humidifier. You can drill a hole in the intake of the direct vent furnace and install the sensor there. It wont be exactly accurate but will be close enough to do the job. And then you wont have to run. The wire all the way outside.

Advertisement

raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell TrueSteam wont work! Stewart Daniel General DIY Discussions 18 12-20-2010 08:41 AM
Internet / Network controlled thermostats rkpatt HVAC 0 12-04-2010 02:41 PM
Do they make internet enabled fire detectors? Red Squirrel Safety 3 08-30-2010 04:39 PM
Simple hint when upgrading from classic Honeywell round thermostats operagost HVAC 1 02-02-2010 05:32 PM
Replace Trane Weathertron (Baystat 339) with Honeywell RTH2410 ammiller2 HVAC 0 12-12-2009 10:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts