It's Cold Already...furnace Not Working :( - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2008, 06:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

It's cold already...furnace not working :(


I have a Lennox that's approx. 10 years old and with the cold weather coming here in Iowa I turned the gas furnace on the other night and nothing came out but cold air. It has an intermittent pilot ignition system on it and it was not even attempting to ignite. Long story short I changed the Sensor and the ignitor and still nothing. I don't even smell gas when the valve is on. My hot water heater and stove are working fine so why am I not smelling gas if the system is on. Thanks guys in advance.

Advertisement


Last edited by bryangwilson; 09-09-2008 at 07:19 PM.
bryangwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 10:46 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

It's cold already...furnace not working :(


Quote:
Originally Posted by bryangwilson View Post
I have a Lennox that's approx. 10 years old and with the cold weather coming here in Iowa I turned the gas furnace on the other night and nothing came out but cold air. It has an intermittent pilot ignition system on it and it was not even attempting to ignite. Long story short I changed the Sensor and the ignitor and still nothing. I don't even smell gas when the valve is on. My hot water heater and stove are working fine so why am I not smelling gas if the system is on. Thanks guys in advance.
Ideally you should never smell gas. Do you have around 24 volts at the W terminal in the control box when calling for heat? If not, maybe check the transformer. Just a thought from a newbie. Hope it helps.

Advertisement


Last edited by hvac newbie; 09-09-2008 at 10:54 PM. Reason: accuracy
hvac newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 11:33 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

It's cold already...furnace not working :(


I don't have a tester to check the volts. I'm thinking that it's the control module. Those are about $200 I think.
bryangwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 11:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

It's cold already...furnace not working :(


Quote:
Originally Posted by bryangwilson View Post
I don't have a tester to check the volts. I'm thinking that it's the control module. Those are about $200 I think.
I think you had better find a professional tech!
hvac newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 08:59 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 250
Default

It's cold already...furnace not working :(


If you don't have a volt meter and other tools you need to call a HVAC tech. You can however check some simple things such as an obstructed air intake or exhaust if this is a high efficiency unit. Bees and kids love to build and put things in PVC pipes.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 05:44 AM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

It's cold already...furnace not working :(


if you have no spark on the stat mercury or LED on a digital or any action within the air handler(but fan runs) with that you have at least 24V control.pull the stat and jump as suggested R to W see if that gives you pilot action.emergency switch ON away from the burner?stat set for heat..sorry had to ask

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Furnace - out cold :) cheddarhead HVAC 30 04-23-2012 01:23 PM
Rheem furnace stopped working kgsolomon1 HVAC 1 02-09-2008 07:51 PM
CARRIER 58RAV Furnace Blows Cold Air-No Heat sarosie HVAC 2 12-05-2007 01:00 AM
Furnace stops working once a day - help Da_Bears HVAC 2 01-26-2006 02:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts