Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-11-2013, 09:53 AM   #1

Share |

Issues with hot upstairs (long, sorry)

I have moved in with my fiance, into his house. He bought it several years ago intending to flip it, the market flipped instead and luckily it is big enough for us all so KISMET! We have 7 people living here now... good times. Bad times are how unpredictable the HVAC system is. I've spent the morning investigating ducting trying to figure out what the hell is going on. I've been coming around this house for almost three years now, and it's better with some changes, but not good enough.

1. it's an older house, built in '77 with a single multistage heat pump and blower unit in the basement. blower isn't that old, and neither is heat pump. Replaced the stat this fall, that was a treat since it was a 3/2 heat pump... I do not recommend ever doing that yourself. but I did it and it works a champ (honeywell professional model)

2. There seems to have been a damper at one point. I say this because there is writing on the ductwork in the basement that says "open summer closed winter" but there is no longer a damper. I'm not sure what it was dampering where it was so it might have been removed for just being stupid in the first place. My assumption was that it would have dampered off part of the downstairs to push air upstairs since all of our woes with this system are basically that... that in summer it's hot as hell upstairs and freezing in the basement and in winter it's cold upstairs and reasonable in the basement. i think the damper was removed when they added a humidifier because the flexible ductwork coming from the humidifier is right against where the damper handle was.

3. The main level is comfortable year round. The thermostat is central on the main level. Clearly the stat is working and the system works on one level.