Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2011, 07:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


I have an Intertherm LP furnace that often refuses to light. It generates tremendous condensation in the drain line. sometimes when I drain the water it will start other times not. i've had two service calls and each time it works for awhile after they leave. This last time the problem was diagnosed as a pressure switch and it was replaced. within two hours the furnace stopped igniting again. I'm wodering if the problem might be the venting. The vent rise vertically with 2 45 degree elbows and then the exhaust vent goes horizontal for a few inches then drop about 6" creating in effect a trap for the condensation. The vent runs horizontal for about six feet then goes vertical. The fresh air return comes from the vertical segment. This exhaust vent arrangement does not seem right to me and the technician I used seems not to know. Is there any chance this could be plumbed incorrectly or does this "trap arrangement" sound right?
Thanks for your help

hube1iam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 07:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,275
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


would really need a picture of what you are talking about...

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 07:27 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


it very ewell could be. When a pressure switch is indicated it revolves around the exhaust as well.

If a bird made a nest in your exhaust (pipe) , a pressure switch diagnostic code would flash.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 07:30 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


I'm thinking the trap hold the condensation so that it will not breath therefore over time the pipe fills up with water and restricts the exhaust. could that be.
hube1iam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 07:34 PM   #5
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


Clearly needs a picture of that "trap"in order to evaluate.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to REP For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-28-2011)
Old 12-28-2011, 07:40 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,073
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


Post some pics if you can. There should not be ANY point where water can get trapped.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-28-2011)
Old 12-28-2011, 07:53 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by hube1iam View Post
I'm thinking the trap hold the condensation so that it will not breath therefore over time the pipe fills up with water and restricts the exhaust. could that be.

yes. definitely. These other guys are far more experienced with this than I but yes, definitely.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
hube1iam (12-28-2011)
Old 12-28-2011, 07:57 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


I'm not sure you can see this. If not i'll try again. i apologize for the quality of the attachment
Attached Files
File Type: pdf scan1ad1.pdf (91.4 KB, 67 views)
hube1iam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:04 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,275
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


can't really see all that well but it looks like just what you are saying its traping water.....thats a no no
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
hube1iam (12-28-2011)
Old 12-28-2011, 08:14 PM   #10
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


Well Thats your problem.The vent must constantly be rising as it travels to the chimney.
That picture didn't really show what the vent was made of.It could be single wall metal,double wall metal ("B"vent),normal PVC or the outlawed high temp plastic.
Traps are for water,not for flue gases.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to REP For This Useful Post:
hube1iam (12-28-2011)
Old 12-28-2011, 08:23 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


I'll try again
Attached Files
File Type: pdf new12.pdf (50.6 KB, 64 views)
hube1iam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:25 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


The vents transition from PVC to ABS then back to PVC
hube1iam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:27 PM   #13
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,073
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


Is there only 1 pipe exiting the roof. Looks to me like you have a concentric exhaust kit ( pipe within a pipe). Still there should be NO trapping and the installer offset it to make it fit. Will never work properly like that.

Concentric kit.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 12-28-2011 at 08:29 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:30 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


I don't think there is a pipe within a pipe as several years ago the piping came apart and dumped water on my ceiling. I repaired the connections but left the alignment alone. Actually I think the roof unit might look like that. i'll need to check in the morning. Thanks ALL

Last edited by hube1iam; 12-28-2011 at 08:33 PM.
hube1iam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:32 PM   #15
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Intertherm furnace problems


Then remove the whole trap thing and replace with a stright piece of PVC with couplings.Make sure to be quick aqnd twist the couplings that are glued up .You have to be quick because that PVC glue sets fast.You want to twist the coupling to make sure there is a complete circle of glue under thwe coupling so that vent gases have no place to escape.

REP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to REP For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-28-2011)
Reply

Tags
furnace not heating, furnace repair


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
Lennox Furnace problems boolean HVAC 21 11-19-2012 06:45 PM
Intertherm furnace replacement heatycooly HVAC 2 12-11-2011 03:49 PM
Furnace and air vent problems dsd HVAC 3 06-15-2010 07:28 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.