INTake For HVAC - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2009, 11:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

INTake for HVAC


Looking for advice: I have realized in my new home, the intake for the HVAC system is routed to the fireplace. I'm haveing a new fireplace put in and want to remove the bulky duct work on the basement ceiling. Should I just remove the duct work and add a vent the pulls in air from the basement,(since the basement will be finished in 6 months? Or should I have the duct work rerouted to take in air from the the upstairs? Attached is a picture to give a visual of what it currently looks like. INTake for HVAC-remodeling.jpg

Advertisement

bladesj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 11:04 PM   #2
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

INTake for HVAC


Not a good idea, Your system will not function correctly. Airflow will suffer. To have a good balanced system a return air path is needed for every room that is supplied with conditioned air. From your pic the return ducting will have to be larger than the supply, the way it is set up now

Advertisement

qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 12:35 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

INTake for HVAC


Quote:
Originally Posted by bladesj View Post
Looking for advice: I have realized in my new home, the intake for the HVAC system is routed to the fireplace. I'm haveing a new fireplace put in and want to remove the bulky duct work on the basement ceiling. Should I just remove the duct work and add a vent the pulls in air from the basement,(since the basement will be finished in 6 months? Or should I have the duct work rerouted to take in air from the the upstairs? Attached is a picture to give a visual of what it currently looks like. Attachment 12268
in the basement as u will create a negative pressure in the area of the water heater & furnace and pull products of combustion into the base and distribute them through the house , really a non no!!!!!!!......Jack
psilliman001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
frost clogging furnace air intake geep HVAC 5 01-22-2009 05:32 PM
Furnace installed. Intake from outside. DO i need it? Northland101 HVAC 5 11-28-2008 03:03 PM
Air Intake vents....do I need them in basement? yummy mummy HVAC 7 09-21-2007 03:55 PM
Filter For Air Intake For Central Ac bobo General DIY Discussions 3 05-17-2005 04:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts