DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Insulating hot water heating pipes

5K views 7 replies 3 participants last post by  Rav 
#1 ·
Greetings. This is my first post. I'm not a pro, just a homeowner who enjoys improving and fixing things up myself. We have a natural gas hot water boiler, high-limit set at 150, which heats our 1931-built house. It's in the unfinished basement, two sides of which are underground and two partially so. During heating season it's always warmer in the basement than the upper floors because I think the pipes are giving off a lot of heat that would otherwise go upstairs (and, because it's partially underground, better insulated than the upper floors). The first few feet coming off the boiler are newer copper pipes, but after that it's all old black pipe supply and return lines. I've measured the outer diameters of the various-size black pipes at approx. 2.35", 1.9", and 1.3". I would like to insulate those pipes. I assume I should use fiberglass, i.e. those 3' length tubes "hinged with self-sealing lap." Assuming this is a good idea, what thickness would be effective? Should I only insulate the supply lines, or also the return lines? I also figure that I won't bother insulating right at the joints where the smaller pipes branch off, not just because that's probably hard to do correctly but also it would leave SOME pipe exposed to keep the basement from getting too cold.

So, is this a worthwhile project which will save energy and reduce costs over the long run? We plan to stay in the house many years. Thanks for any advise you may have.

See less See more
#3 ·