Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2009, 11:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SW Montana
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Insulate fireplace chase


We have a wood burning fireplace as supplement heat. It has a large chase that rock is mounted to inside the house and is on an interior wall. How do we insulate the chase in the house, attic and part that is on the roof so the cold air does not come down and cause condensation with the heat of the stove pipe?
shutterjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 08:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seymour, TN
Posts: 41
Default

Insulate fireplace chase


can you get inside the chase from the attic. If you can someone could climb down and install it. If not then you have to open the chase up somehow.
ausblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 10:20 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SW Montana
Posts: 9
Default

Insulate fireplace chase


Part of it is still exposed (new construction) but how do you do it? Just batts of fiber glass or insulate the stove pipe with like slip cover type insulation?
shutterjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 06:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Insulate fireplace chase


Need to leave a 1" clearance between the pipe and insulation.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 08:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seymour, TN
Posts: 41
Default

Insulate fireplace chase


Unfaced batts will work best. Make sure you secure them in the studs good. The fireplace could overheat and cause problems if they fall on top of it. If it has a firestop at the celing level then insulate the top of that also. But check the manafacturers specs ont he clearance on the pipe. Some are 1" but some are 2" for wood pipe. Some of the older pipe can go right up against wood. If you don't have a manual you may can find one online.
ausblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 09:35 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SW Montana
Posts: 9
Default

Insulate fireplace chase


How do you secure them to studs?
shutterjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 11:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seymour, TN
Posts: 41
Default

Insulate fireplace chase


I use a nylon type strapping. I cut it to fit tight and staple the strapping about every foot. This will not let it fold and fall out. You could also use the mesh they use for blow in insulation. Not sure what it actually called but it staples on as well. The strapping has always worked great for me. You should be able to pick it up in the plumbing or heating and air section at home depot or lowes.
ausblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chase, fireplace, insulation, stove


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need to insulate duct in the a chase in the middle of the house vdu HVAC 3 11-15-2009 01:53 PM
How to frame a gas fireplace chase erikkl2000 Carpentry 9 12-02-2007 09:38 PM
New construction - Insulate Chase ? Tcal Building & Construction 1 09-24-2007 07:29 PM
how to insulate behind gas fireplace THEBIGPUNN Building & Construction 2 09-26-2006 04:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.