Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 07:05 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


I have not yet found a correct value for the pressure switch, but in the mean time, (just because it was interesting) I built a manometer on the door frame next to my furnace and find that I'm getting 1 and 7/8 water column inches of vacuum from my exhaust draft inducer. Is that a good or bad number?
http://gerendayphoto.com/otherStuff/...Inches_800.jpg

FunWithTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 07:54 PM   #17
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,611
Rewards Points: 2,360
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


How
It is a first generation high efficiency 90% efficient unit. Any furnace that uses plastic venting and condenses the flue gas and uses a plastic ventor/exhaust fan is high efficiency. Mid efficiency runs flue gases above 300F /non condensing and needs a chimney and metal ventor fan. It is the first generation where it has open burners and takes air for combustion from the house. Similar to the way we can 1 pipe them now. All they did on that unit (I have lots of them in Wpg. is add a exhaust pipe to the top of the heat exchanger after closing up the draft diverter and then routing it back down to a secondary heat exchanger above the fan. LOTS of those units have rotten burners with flames coming out the sides of them and the burners are obsolete. Lots of those units are going obsolete as ICP took over ICG who designed it and made them in Wpg. and by the way they have new furnaces to sell you so why make parts for old ones is their attitude. Timed on fan controls are going obsolete for them etc etc etc.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-03-2012 at 08:02 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 07:57 PM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,611
Rewards Points: 2,360
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Actually that is pretty good. I did one not long ago with missing info a Carrier and it was rated for 1.78" of differential pressure so you may be OK. The switch will eventually fail so the easiest cheapest method would be to try replace it first.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:16 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,527
Rewards Points: 2,734
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Actually, your getting 3.75".
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:18 PM   #20
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,611
Rewards Points: 2,360
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Boy that unit, fan really sucks. LOL
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:56 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Actually, your getting 3.75".
So the measurement should be read as the sum of movement on both sides of the gauge?
FunWithTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:04 PM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,527
Rewards Points: 2,734
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by FunWithTools View Post
So the measurement should be read as the sum of movement on both sides of the gauge?
Yes. Its the total movement.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:05 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,527
Rewards Points: 2,734
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Boy that unit, fan really sucks. LOL
LOL, ya a part that when its sucks, its good.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:23 PM   #24
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,611
Rewards Points: 2,360
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Would have to have an extra big Capacytator to get that kinda suckion out of it.

Its not a Hoover.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:39 AM   #25
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Me thinks you're missing a safetey switch.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:29 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Okay. Y'all have lost me round about post #19.

The fluid in my manometer is one segment that wraps around the bend at the bottom of the tube. When I apply vacuum to the right end of the tube the whole volume of water moves in one direction towards the vacuum. The movement is 1.875" in one direction. It's like a train that starts at the station and the engine travels down the tracks 1.875 miles. When the train reaches it's destination, we don't add the distance the train has moved forward to the distance it's left behind to get the total distance traveled. That would double the distance.

It seems to me that if we viewed the water in my manometer as two columns of water, the column on the left moved negative 1.875" while the column on the right moved positive 1.875". If we add the two numbers together the result would be zero.

Yuri seems incredulous that my inducer could be producing 3.75" and Doc Holliday believes someone is missing a safety switch. Would that refer to my furnace or to yuri and beenthere? Is 3.75" an extraordinary value?

Just trying to get a little clarification because I'm still cold over here.
I'm planning to buy a new pressure switch. Does everyone think that's the correct next step?

Thanks guys.
FunWithTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 11:35 AM   #27
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,611
Rewards Points: 2,360
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/u-...ter-d_611.html

you measure the difference between the 2 levels like in the link above but that is for differential pressure measuring where you have two different pressure sources and 2 hoses.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-04-2012 at 11:40 AM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
FunWithTools (11-04-2012)
Old 11-04-2012, 11:52 AM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,527
Rewards Points: 2,734
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by FunWithTools View Post
Okay. Y'all have lost me round about post #19.

The fluid in my manometer is one segment that wraps around the bend at the bottom of the tube. When I apply vacuum to the right end of the tube the whole volume of water moves in one direction towards the vacuum. The movement is 1.875" in one direction. It's like a train that starts at the station and the engine travels down the tracks 1.875 miles. When the train reaches it's destination, we don't add the distance the train has moved forward to the distance it's left behind to get the total distance traveled. That would double the distance.

It seems to me that if we viewed the water in my manometer as two columns of water, the column on the left moved negative 1.875" while the column on the right moved positive 1.875". If we add the two numbers together the result would be zero.

Yuri seems incredulous that my inducer could be producing 3.75" and Doc Holliday believes someone is missing a safety switch. Would that refer to my furnace or to yuri and beenthere? Is 3.75" an extraordinary value?

Just trying to get a little clarification because I'm still cold over here.
I'm planning to buy a new pressure switch. Does everyone think that's the correct next step?

Thanks guys.
Its the total movement in the manometer. if i check one with a liquid/water manometer, and add the 2 movements together, and then use 1 of my digital manometers, I get the same readings.

The u tube while bent in a u, is still all 1 column. So you add both together.

Its not a train, so they can't be compared together.

Very well may be the switch.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
FunWithTools (11-04-2012)
Old 11-04-2012, 12:04 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Okay.
I believe I understand now. The value we are interested in is the height value between the lowest meniscus on the gauge and the highest one, rather than the positive or negative values traveled by either end independently.
Thank you beenthere and yuri! Much appreciated.

I have placed an order for a new pressure switch. In the mean time, I'm going to jumper the wires that would go to the switch so I can get some heat in here. Almost too cold to type at the keyboard.
FunWithTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:51 PM   #30
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,611
Rewards Points: 2,360
Default

Insufficient flow from exhaust inducer - won't actuate pressure switch


Not recommended to jumper that switch ever. If the inducer fails you can have a serious flame rollout from the front burners and fire. Unless you sit there and watch it run you should NEVER jumper that switch. Pretty hard to explain to your insurance company and the fire inspector how that switch got jumpered.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open pressure switch on furnace Dale0202 HVAC 4 01-26-2011 10:35 PM
No Heat: Pressure switch & Hoses forming traps Yooperman906 HVAC 22 01-04-2011 09:52 AM
Weatherking pressure switch stuck closed error code bobnorman76 HVAC 0 12-18-2010 09:29 AM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.