Installing A Zone Controller - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2011, 12:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing a Zone Controller


Looking for some opinions.

I currently live in a two story 1200 sq ft. townouse, and I suffer from a common problem that most homeowners have.

Hot on the 2nd floor, and just great on the first.

My A/C is ok, and I do not want to move my thermostat (currently downstairs).

That being said installing a zone controller is the best solution becuase it will allow me to have a thermostat upstairs.

The downstairs ducts feed off of a 12" duct that comes off of the supply plenum so its a no brainer on how to setup the motorized duct for the downstairs.

However the upstairs has three ducts (one for each room) and each one of the ducts feed off of the supply plenum.

The only way I can think of the make the two zone controller work is to take another 12" duct with a motorized damper off the supply plenum and have it feed to a junction box which would then supply the upstairs rooms.

Does this sound like it would work and be acceptable.

I look forward to hearing feedback.

Thanks


(If you plan on telling me to just go and hire a professional, I thank you for your opinion but the reason I am posting to this forum is so I can learn)

Advertisement

ajlewis1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 02:20 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Installing a Zone Controller


First thing is, what ton is your outside unit, and what size is your inside unit? If you do not know, post model numbers and manufacturer info. What size is the ducts upstairs? Is there a return upstairs? Installing a Zone controller may not solve the problem of the upstairs. Also, when was the last time your hvac system was serviced by cleaning off the outside unit, the condensor coil (a-coil) checked on the inside unit?

Advertisement


Last edited by gregzoll; 08-04-2011 at 04:38 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 04:28 PM   #3
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a Zone Controller


Welcome ajlewis1, to the best dary DIY'r site on the web.

Your thought process for seperating the up from down has merit and should work. You should consider the total area of the ducts that go upstairs and ensure that the single duct feeding a distribution box is at least the equivalent area.

The next question is, are there any return air ducts on the second floor? if not you would have a higher success rate of air distribution by adding RA on the second floor.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 04:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing a Zone Controller


Thanks for the feedback, and welcome


There are 3 ducts as I said upstairs which are 7 in each.

I just recently "upgraded" my return air. Originally I only had a 12x24 return air vents, one upstairs and one downstairs, now I have a 20x25 upstairs and a 16x20 downstairs.

I thought about adding another return air upstairs in my bedroom, but my buddy who helped me brought up the potential issue of static pressure.

Thanks

Aaron
ajlewis1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 04:45 PM   #5
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a Zone Controller


The more net free area you have the less pressure drop you will experience, if you can add one in your room do it, RA is as important as SA.

3 x 7" = 115 in2
1 x 12" = 113 in2

I would say that is close enough for the girls I go out with

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done

Last edited by Jackofall1; 08-04-2011 at 04:49 PM.
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd zone not working properly MichaelChlopik HVAC 1 10-15-2010 06:59 PM
Boiler heating zone not working properly ssevern HVAC 5 12-19-2009 07:05 PM
Adding new zone makapacs HVAC 0 11-26-2009 01:35 PM
need some help sorting out my new heating zone please wombosi Plumbing 3 04-23-2009 05:54 PM
help with third heat zone i just put in... wombosi HVAC 6 04-21-2009 01:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts