Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2012, 03:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Share |
Default

Installing VisionPro IAQ - need help


Hi - my deisre to install a whole house humidifier and monitor/adjust RH from the thermostat snowballed into buying a Honeywell VisionPro IAQ thermostat. Overkill but I hope to grow into it. I am having trouble with the wiring. Current system:

Goodman SSZ14 heatpump
Goodman AEPF Air Handler
Honeywell Chronotherm III t-stat with manual heat/cool changeover (circa 1991)

Current system is wired as follows (first photo) and doesn't follow any of the diagrams I have. Trying to figure out how to wire it correctly and looking for advice. Second photo is the diagram I think I should be working from. Thanks! and I apologize for the crude drawing.



silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 04:25 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Installing VisionPro IAQ - need help




What make and model humidifier are you installing? Do you also want dehumidification with air conditioning enabled?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by hvactech126; 02-04-2012 at 04:53 PM.
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 04:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Default

Installing VisionPro IAQ - need help


I can't thank you enough. Humidifier is an AprilAire 600. No plans for dehumidification right now.

Can you provide insight into the to current wiring? Just to satisfy my own curiosity?

Thanks.
silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 04:43 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Installing VisionPro IAQ - need help


current wiring is for the current thermostat requirements and its internal operation. New thermostat uses different internal operation.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by hvactech126; 02-12-2012 at 10:28 AM.
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 05:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Default

Installing VisionPro IAQ - need help


Geez, I think I just realized what was confusing me. Lower left of my hand-drawn looks to have four wires (Y1, YCON, O, W2) jumped together. They are actually bundled at the end with electrical tape. I was thinking that was lazy work but now realize it's likely unused wires bundled together. That really clears this up.

Thanks again for the assistance.
silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 05:56 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Default

Installing VisionPro IAQ - need help


The AprilAire 600 humidifier came with a 24V transformer but I assume it's okay to tap into the AH's existing 24V transformer?
silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:25 PM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Installing VisionPro IAQ - need help


I prefer to have the humidifier on it's own circuit. The reason for this is so that if the humidifier circuit were to fail due to a bad wire or failed solenoid valve it would not cause the heat or air to not work as well.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 10:47 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Default

Installing VisionPro IAQ - need help


New IAQ and humidifier installed; and everything is working. Thanks again for the assistance. I was working within the confines of a previously-installed humidifier (location and bypass routing).

silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 10:27 AM   #9
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Installing VisionPro IAQ - need help


glad you got it going! Good job
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump infoskr HVAC 34 11-20-2013 04:24 PM
Installing a suspended in a room that has an angled wall... markronz Remodeling 10 02-20-2010 09:03 AM
Installing saddle valve on hot water pipe Dbizot Plumbing 6 01-14-2010 11:11 AM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 08:26 PM
Installing Corner Countertops on a corner that is not square? tjandt Remodeling 10 12-30-2005 10:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.