Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2010, 02:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Installing a thermostat


Recently, I had a technician look at my HVAC system which was on the blink. He said it was due to a short which he fixed and I also needed a new thermostat. Unfortunately he didn't have any on his truck (Which according to him would cost about 200.00 anyway) and said I could buy one at Lowe's or Home Depot for a lot cheaper.
He said to get a 1 heat/1cool thermostat.Which I did and when I hooked it up nothing is happening. I'd rather not have to call someone else out there and have to spend a lot of money which I don't have. Any suggestions?

machx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 03:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Installing a thermostat


Check for a blown low voltage fuse or burnt out transformer.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 06:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Installing a thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Check for a blown low voltage fuse or burnt out transformer.
Marty,

The guy checked and supposedly replaced the blown fuses.He hooked the wires up to a device before he left and it came on.

Matt
machx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 06:45 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Installing a thermostat


If you didn't turn the power off before insalling the new thermostat there's a good chance they're blown again.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 08:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Installing a thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
If you didn't turn the power off before insalling the new thermostat there's a good chance they're blown again.
Hmm I actually did turn the power off before installing. Is there anyway to hot wire the damn fan so it will cut on?
machx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 09:08 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Installing a thermostat


Jump the R and G for the fan

Also, depending on the age of the furnace on the front of the case doors there should be a clear plastic glass sight hole. If you look in the hole do you see a flashing LED. If you have a sight glass and no visible LED then power has not been restored.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer

Last edited by Plumber101; 05-31-2010 at 09:11 PM.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 11:52 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Installing a thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
Jump the R and G for the fan

Also, depending on the age of the furnace on the front of the case doors there should be a clear plastic glass sight hole. If you look in the hole do you see a flashing LED. If you have a sight glass and no visible LED then power has not been restored.
Ok here's a real stupid question....what do I jump the R and G with?
machx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 01:37 AM   #8
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

Installing a thermostat


scrap stat wire ..paper clip..check your new stat might need C connected so you have a 24V power source to power the LED electronics within..if it is lit but no action could be lookin for that C which is the other side of the TR in the furnace..if you get fan on the jump you have 24Vs at least.

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing new thermostat, getting no response fupafupa HVAC 3 05-25-2010 02:01 PM
Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat.... jobondur HVAC 14 03-30-2010 10:01 PM
Installing new thermostat Jarhad HVAC 1 02-28-2010 02:39 PM
Installing a wireless thermostat BPH HVAC 4 05-27-2009 12:37 PM
Need Help Installing New Thermostat !!! twadd10 HVAC 1 02-05-2009 11:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.