Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2008, 05:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 500
Default

installing a split system


i got a 18k goodman split system for free. i can do everything for hookup except not sure about the line set. do i have to pull a vaccum or can i buy sealed line set?? if i go ahead and hookup w/o pulling vac. what are chances i'll have problemns?? can i just do that and put a drier in low side to cover myself?? Thanks for help.

Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 06:05 PM   #2
Ouch!That'll leave a mark
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ridgeville SC near Charleston
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25
Thumbs down

installing a split system


Is this a used unit? If so , all air must removed. unless all components are sealed. You must pull a vaccum to remove all atmosphear. If not the unit will not cool properly, it will run a high discharge pressure, you will shorten the life by over heating the compressor.

ridgevilleac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 06:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 500
Default

installing a split system


thanks for the reply. no, it's a new unit in box. older style f22 seer 10. friend had it but is now mo.ving. does your answer still hold?? thanks.
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 06:30 PM   #4
Ouch!That'll leave a mark
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ridgeville SC near Charleston
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25
Thumbs up

installing a split system


If you use a line set and as long as no air enters the refrigerant circuit You are ready to roll. Most units are charged from the factory for a 25' line set. You can do it BUT you still should get a pro to check after you install. Refrigerant pressures are your only concern.
ridgevilleac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 07:11 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 500
Default

installing a split system


thanks for your reply, how would i keep air out of line set? i 'm assuming when i take plugs out of line set and evap to hook up, that air would enter?? is this short time not a concern or am i in my ignorance missing something. i appreciate you guys taking the time to help me through this.
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 07:34 AM   #6
Ouch!That'll leave a mark
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ridgeville SC near Charleston
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25
Default

installing a split system


Yesany air will contaminate the system. A line set is sealed and opens when installed.
ridgevilleac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 08:50 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 500
Default

installing a split system


THANK'S. i do appliance repair and used to do sealed systems on refrig's but stopped when recovery started [too small a part of my business ] got rid of all my equip.. so all this stuff , sealed line sets etc is all new to me. SO! i guess i'm good to go. i need 15' of line. it's going to sit in an alleyway and i won't make their clearances for intake/exhaust air on cond. unit. only have TOTAL of 34" so intake will be 4" and exh. 19" [12"-39" ]. hope that won't cause me problemns??? Thanks again.

Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 1/2 Pex more restrictive than 1/2 copper? twilightcall Plumbing 19 06-24-2008 07:32 AM
Installing a mini split ductless system agenkin HVAC 1 06-14-2008 09:33 PM
Ductless split system - advice mikeyd HVAC 9 06-26-2007 05:23 AM
5 Ton split system keeps shutting down mahjohn HVAC 1 06-10-2006 07:31 AM
Size A/C system properly 70stang HVAC 1 03-26-2006 07:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.