Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2011, 03:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing Split a/c system


I bought a new 2 ton split system that I am installing in my shop. It comes with a 25' line set. If I cut & make lines shorter do I need to have freon removed from system as it is charged for the 25 feet? I have the vac pump but not a reclaimer.
Thanks Randy


Last edited by RDH1958; 07-31-2011 at 04:32 PM. Reason: Spelling
RDH1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 04:20 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,526
Rewards Points: 2,732
Default

Installing Split a/c system


Generally, yes.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 04:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing Split a/c system


Thanks
Is there any disadvantage to using the origional length. Is the shorter better in this case?
RDH1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 05:29 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,526
Rewards Points: 2,732
Default

Installing Split a/c system


10 foot difference on that short of a line will make no difference in efficiency or capacity.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 05:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing Split a/c system


Thanks for your reply
RDH1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 06:57 PM   #6
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Installing Split a/c system


As long as you set it up to super heat and / or subcooling.then you're good to go.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:26 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing Split a/c system


Shop is now cool. Now I need to get the line set coverd up!!
Any suggestions??
RDH1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:46 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,526
Rewards Points: 2,732
Default

Installing Split a/c system


http://www.calibex.com/Line-Set-Cove...0--search-html

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
RDH1958 (08-04-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split System Replace, Resell? golddog HVAC 3 06-25-2010 03:38 PM
Installing a New Central Air System vdu HVAC 7 09-01-2009 03:45 PM
Sanyo split system Larry C General DIY Discussions 1 04-03-2009 04:47 PM
Ductless split system - advice mikeyd HVAC 9 06-26-2007 05:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.