Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2012, 10:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Installing a range hood with existing ductwork


Hey folks, I hope you are doing well. I have learned alot from the forum and appreciate this resource. Thanks for sharing your knowledge.

I need some help and I would appreciate your thoughts on the proper installation of a range hood in the kitchen. I've attached a few photos and drawings. The old hood vented through a 6" duct in the ceiling, which turned 90 into a 10" duct which goes straight up through the roof. I was just going to connect the new range hood to the old duct work, but....

The 10" vertical duct also goes straight down to the stove level where there is another 90 and dead ends right over the stove level in the wall. The 10" duct is lined with some kind of clay which brings it down to 6" diameter. This portion of the duct is not used, and seems like it was for an old style stove / oven. (My house is a one level rancher built in the 1950's)

What I'd like to do is remove the 10" duct below where the range hood vent connects. My range hood duct will then have two 90s and go from 6" to the existing 10" duct.

What do you folks think?

Could the lining be an asbestos material?

Thanks in advance.

Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Installing a range hood with existing ductwork-img_8002.jpg   Installing a range hood with existing ductwork-img_8001.jpg   Installing a range hood with existing ductwork-img_8006.jpg   Installing a range hood with existing ductwork-img_8007.jpg   Installing a range hood with existing ductwork-img_7995b.jpg  


Last edited by dave.vp; 11-08-2012 at 11:00 AM.
dave.vp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:24 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,457
Default

Installing a range hood with existing ductwork


Looks okay to me. I can't say if asbestos is there or not, though.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
dave.vp (11-10-2012)
Old 11-10-2012, 12:41 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Installing a range hood with existing ductwork


Thanks Doc. Appreciate the input.
dave.vp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
range hood duct NealTX HVAC 6 08-14-2011 12:12 PM
venting a range hood thru existing metal roof mycajah Roofing/Siding 1 03-22-2011 01:57 PM
new range hood with existing cabinets cook Carpentry 6 01-26-2010 01:09 PM
Questions about ductwork for kitchen range hood ilyaz HVAC 11 12-09-2009 12:16 AM
Range Hood venting questions Crashless Remodeling 5 04-13-2008 09:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.