Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2011, 11:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing new thermostat / wiring question


I'm replacing a 23 year old manual Honeywell thermostat with a new digital Honeywell thermostat model RTH111. The old thermostat has two wires (colors white and red) but no designation on the terminals. This is for a hot water baseboard gas fired boiler.
Which terminals do these unmarked wires connect to on the RTH111? The terminals on the RTH111 are: O/B, Y, RC, R, G, W.
Thanks,
Roy

roliemu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 11:41 PM   #2
Don't WANNA do it myself
 
mnp13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, NY Area
Posts: 629
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Installing new thermostat / wiring question


I'm guessing, but perhaps red to R and white to W?

__________________
Michelle

Fixing the re-muddling one room at a time...
mnp13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 03:31 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,527
Rewards Points: 2,734
Default

Installing new thermostat / wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by mnp13 View Post
I'm guessing, but perhaps red to R and white to W?
Yep..
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 07:48 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Installing new thermostat / wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by roliemu View Post
I'm replacing a 23 year old manual Honeywell thermostat with a new digital Honeywell thermostat model RTH111. The old thermostat has two wires (colors white and red) but no designation on the terminals. This is for a hot water baseboard gas fired boiler.
Which terminals do these unmarked wires connect to on the RTH111? The terminals on the RTH111 are: O/B, Y, RC, R, G, W.
Thanks,
Roy
Red to R and White to W, but more important as that you set it up in the bios of with dip switches for hydronic heat.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell thermostat wiring wcb22 HVAC 5 01-10-2011 05:54 AM
Thermostat to Controller Wiring Molson HVAC 1 07-05-2010 06:24 PM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Thermostat wiring question Yail Bloor Electrical 5 09-13-2009 01:57 PM
Thermostat wiring jetmanaz HVAC 1 08-09-2009 07:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.