Installing New Rheem Furnace To Old A Coil - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2007, 10:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

installing new rheem furnace to old a coil


look n for some advise i am install n a new rheem grk 120000 btu furnace but i want to use old a coil but outlet on rheem 23inch by 20 inc and a coil is only16 by 19 inch can i make it work or do i need a biger a coil box ididnt know if the smaller box would cut down on air flow ??? thanks for the help

Advertisement

rad488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 09:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 343
Rewards Points: 266
Default

installing new rheem furnace to old a coil


Depends on a couple of things.
How much more CFM does the new furnace move than the old one?
If you are increasing the amount of air the furnace is pushing through the coil it is possible(probable) that you will have problems in cooling mode since you won't be cooling the air off as much as it passes through the coil more quickly, and loose your ability to dehumidify the air as it passes. You may also overload the condensing unit outside by absorbing more heat from the coil as more air passes through it.
How high off the top of the furnace will the old coil be located?
If the coil is located directly on top of the furnace(like only a few inches above the heat exchanger) you may well restrict the airflow through the heat exchanger, and overheat the furnace causing it to cycle on the limit control. If you have a bit of room between the top of the furnace and the coil this will be less of a concern.(14-18inches or more). If you have the space, you could install a bypass damper to circumvent this problem by taking air around the coil(as well as through it) during the heating season and closing the damper in the summer, forcing all the air through the A/C coil.

I think it can be made to work, taking these considerations into mind, but you will want to be sure that you do the proper tempurature rise accross the furnace upon start up and get the fan speed set up for both heating and cooling modes to ensure proper efficiency and tempurature drop/rise.

Dave

Advertisement

HVACDave is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Evap coil question merlinfolks HVAC 15 07-27-2009 08:20 AM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 06:00 PM
Could installing a furnace to the floor joists cause the floor to slope? JKL HVAC 5 01-03-2007 10:23 PM
Replace furnace, coil and duct system sps123 HVAC 2 01-07-2006 11:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts