Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2010, 10:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Installing a furnace in my shop


I replace my house furnace with a new furnace. I want to install the old furnace in my Wood shop. I was going to put the furnace in the garage and pipe the heat into the shop. So the furnace will be in a separate unheated room. One question I have is about the cold air return. Do I need to pipe that into the shop as well? My concern is forcing air into a room with no air return. The shop is not air tight by any means but still. The other problem I have is it ok to put the furnace in an unheated room and will that cause it to run more/less efficient? I could put the furnace in the shop but, I was afraid of wood dust and open flames. Any help would be appreaded.
pdwoods55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 05:24 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,435
Default

Installing a furnace in my shop


IS it a 90%/condensing furnace? If it is. You need to make sure it never gets cold enough to freeze the condensate drain or trap.

Installed in a garage. It must have its burners and blower motor a min of 18" above the floor. Its a fire code.

Next. it must have a supply and return duct to the shop. And may not draw or discharge any air from or into the garage.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
pdwoods55 (11-16-2010)
Old 11-16-2010, 11:39 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Installing a furnace in my shop


Thanks Beenthere. It's not a high effecent furnace so that is not a problem. I didn't know about the 18" but meet that requirement anyway.
pdwoods55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 05:03 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,435
Default

Installing a furnace in my shop


Your welcome.

Stay warm.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Installing new furnace question. csacsa HVAC 13 09-02-2009 05:35 AM
Olsen BFL 120 Furnace DaleB HVAC 12 12-19-2008 10:42 PM
installing new rheem furnace to old a coil rad488 HVAC 1 10-17-2007 08:07 PM
Could installing a furnace to the floor joists cause the floor to slope? JKL HVAC 5 01-03-2007 09:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.